Spirit of Thanksgiving

I once heard, while listening to an LDS General Conference talk, the Spirit of Thanksgiving is to be grateful daily. I can not say I have always suceeded in doing this, but I try.

Instead of being judgemental of the people around me at Walmart because they stand too close while i’m paying for my groceries (or because they called me “sir” while I was wearing glasses with rhinestones and holding a baby), I think, “I’m grateful my car works – I would hate to walk here – and I have money to buy this $2.48 box of butter….all ten of these $2.48 boxes of butter.”

I’ve really been trying to focus on the good in myself and in others.

After dropping my husband off at school, a woman driving a vintage towncar cut me off swearing and shaking her fist at me like I was the bad driver… I said a short prayer for her that her day would improve and also thanked heavenly Father that I did not drive a vintage towncar too, I think that
would make me cranky.

I’m driving home from Thanksgiving and I have so much to be thankful for. My family, my in-laws and friends are such a blessing in my life, I have to share them with you. Some other time though, my husband is driving through Dallas traffic at the moment and I need to do some more praying, these Dallas drivers are giving me heart problems.

Hug and kiss your loved ones. Ta-ta!

3 thoughts on “Spirit of Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

