Not Taking Counsel From Fear

My older brother – better known as “Uncle Beardo” – told me about a quote stated by the former Southern General “Stonewall” Jackson, “never take counsel of your fears.” This quote was taken from an LDS church leader’s commencement talk to graduating college students in reference to facing the future, in other words, “Go Forward With Faith.”

Rodeo Restaurant
I love Mexican food – and you haven’t had good Mexican food if all you have eaten is “Tex-Mex” – that’s all I’m going to say about that.

In 2008, I had this overwhelming feeling to travel somewhere one morning on my commute to work. I frequently get this urge, but this time it was different. I showed up to work and my close friend and manager was on the phone – when I walked into her office, she said, “hey Kate, do you want to go to Mexico?” First words out of my mouth, “yeah, sounds like fun.”

Para Sail
Parasailing – and in Mexico, no waivers needed, just cash for the ride.
It was so peaceful and beautiful – try it out some time.

My friend hung up the phone and immediatly bought two airplane tickets to Mexico and said, “you can pay me back, I know you’re good for it.”  I started having a panic attack – not because I didn’t have the money, because I did – I wasn’t actually prepared to spend a huge wad of money, even though traveling was really important to me.

Just a lite snack - and they tasted pretty good
Just a lite snack – and they tasted pretty good

For a few weeks, I wavered back and forth about the idea of spending a large sum of money that had – in my mind – little return for the investment. My good friend talked the trip up and told me it was going to be a great adventure and I still questioned the trip up until the week before departure.

She was offended that I would take pictures of her rather than offer to pee on her jelly fish sting....
She was offended that I would take pictures of her rather than offer to pee on her jelly fish sting…. just the day before she offered to pee on my jelly fish sting – I declined

As soon as I decided I wanted to go on the trip – I was at peace – because it was what I really wanted. In this way, it makes me think of marriage and relationships: We get to, “choose our love” and we need to, “love our choice” (Neal A. Maxwell said, “Choose your love, love your choice”). When we come to peace with this information, we can know a greater happiness than we have known before.

Some of the locals had some interesting stories - but meeting them and getting to know them gave a better life perspective.
Some of the locals had very interesting stories – meeting them and getting to know them gave me a better life perspective.

Timing plays a big role in when and where to travel. I didn’t go into debt to travel to Mexico and I didn’t quit my job. I wasn’t married and I didn’t leave people or my financial obligations hanging. They were all still there when I returned to the states.

My friend was about to leave on her LDS Mission, so it was only natural to flag down current LDS Missionaries to say hello and offer some kind words.
My friend was about to leave on her LDS Mission, so it was only natural to flag down current LDS Missionaries to say hello and offer some kind words.

I live with my parents. My husband works and goes to school – we are not going into debt for our upcoming trip to Costa Rica. and we are taking our son.

Totally staged photo with REAL Federales...they were really nice and I promised not to show their faces.
Totally staged photo with REAL Federales…they were really nice and I promised not to show their faces. I don’t look too convincing, but my friend sure does….

There are many things in life that look like they don’t make sense, like taking a big trip – or bringing our young child on an foreign adventure, and jumping into marriage for that matter. But, those things are my choice and I feel at peace with my decisions.

taking a swim fully clothed
taking a swim fully clothed in the ocean – it was as fun as it looks.

So, I say don’t look at what other people are doing to gage what is right for you – talk to God, do what is right and you will have peace after you make a good choice – I’m not just talking about traveling.

Nos Vemos eh?

Katie

3 thoughts on “Not Taking Counsel From Fear

  1. Choose your love, Love your choice is one of my favorite quotes. Your posts are so inspirational : ) I get back from seminary, read your blog and then I’m ready to face the day : D

Leave a Reply

