Dancer, Singer, Comedienne

Just hanging out, you know, amongst the other flowers
Just hanging out, you know, amongst the other flowers

My mother turned 58 years old today. Which, now that I’m thirty, doesn’t seem that old or that far away from my current age.

Hoity Toity
Hoity Toity character in a stage production of Wizard of OZ

Where do I begin? My mother and I are best friends – now that doesn’t mean if I gave “her lip” I didn’t get a lecture, because I would of heard, “you don’t speak to your mother that way.”

That dog is a menace to society!
That dog is a menace to society! I love watching her perform.

Since I was a relatively easy child to raise, it was the type of relationship where I could go to my mom and tell her anything – about anything – she was the first to know.

And your little dog too!
“And your little dog too!”                               Her “cackle” is second to none.

Mama has always been good about telling me and my siblings how much she loves us, about how beautiful we are with no shortage of hugs and kisses. But my mom is awesome because, since we were children she would come into each of our bedrooms before bed each night and sing us songs of our choosing while scratching our backs. Even during high school, if it was requested. I bet she would do it tomorrow if I asked.

Oooh Wee Ohh

My mom is such a character – she got plenty of practice entertaining her family growing up. She took classical dance and took advantage of the stage, mom can light up a stage. The only show I remember her performing in as a child was “A Christmas Carol” and that’s because she spent the majority of MY childhood being a mother instead of pursuing her hobbies. She holds a BS in nursing and has recently become a midwife after 30+ years on/off as a Labor and Delivery Nurse.

Mother and baby - my youngest brother
Mother and baby – my youngest brother

My mom has also homeschooled all of her children at one time or another.

She has traveled with us, grown food in her garden – canned food from her garden and cooked healthy foods.

Honestly, there is not much my mom can’t do. My dad was gone a lot when I was young – out to sea as a Naval Officer – and my mom played “good cop/bad cop.” She took over mowing the lawn and fixing things that broke.

Mom told her children:

“the food you eat today, is the baby you make tomorrow – so eat healthy.”

“smart mamas, make smart babies.”

“he who serves best, loves most.”

“children will follow the mother to heaven or to hell.” to her daughters – be good mothers, to her sons, choose good wives.

And all she wanted every year for her birthday and mother’s day was:

“a clean house and no contention.” Seriously, a gift is so much easier.

My mom is such a hottie, even just after giving birth to me in 1982!
My mom is such a hottie, even just after giving birth to me in 1982!

To the woman who taught me how to sing! Happy Birthday, I love you Mama.

Katie

4 thoughts on “Dancer, Singer, Comedienne

  1. Happy Birthday! Beautiful tribute . . . your mom is one of the best moms I know . . . : ) I love the list of things you talked about . . .
    “smart mamas, make smart babies.”
    “he who serves best, loves most.”
    “children will follow the mother to heaven or to hell.” to her daughters – be good mothers, to her sons, choose good wives.

    LOVE THEM! : D

Leave a Reply

