“Welcome To Paradise” My Cool Life

It’s in the 20’s (degrees Fahrenheit, about negative 7 degrees Celsius) here in the back hills of Missouri – it’s only hard when it gets into the teens (F). No snow yet.

Hip, but not hipster
Crocheting is Hip, but I’m no hipster

I started a new hobby last week – crocheting – something I thought I would never do. Never say, “never” – leave yourself open to possibility. I thought crocheting was an awful, boring past time for people who didn’t have anything better to do. Like those fancy ladies in Jane Austen films, “who really does that?” Well, I do…now. I guess that makes me fancy.

No big deal, I crochet. It's like brushing your teeth, you love it or hate it.
No big deal, I crochet. It’s like brushing your teeth, you love it or hate it.

Since I have a fetish with collecting things, including but not limited to hats, coats and gloves, I decided to look for some new gloves online this winter. I found some really lovely crimson “wrist warmers” on a British website for about 60 US dollars. I can think of loads of places to spend 60 dollars. So, that was the moment I decided to make my own fingerless gloves or wrist warmers…which meant I would need to learn how to knit or crochet.

Nice
Well Done.

I had some help from people I know, but youtube was priceless. As I am not one to follow patterns or directions very well, I made up my own pattern. The gloves don’t match one another, aside from the color, but they keep my wrists warm and let my fingers wiggle free.

"Adrian, we did it!!!!" I'm a huge Rocky fan by the way.
“Adrian, we did it!!!!” I’m a huge Rocky fan by the way.

I was also under the impression that crocheting relieved tension and helped bring serenity. I would say from this experience, that crocheting only made me happy when I could get it done. I got extremely irritated if I was disturbed from my yarn work, be it for eating, sleeping, showering or turning off the light so my husband could go to bed.

Yoga pants - check, sheepskin boots - check, fingerless gloves - check.Mom is ready to run errands now.
Yoga pants – check, sheepskin boots – check, fingerless gloves – check.
Mom is ready to run errands now.

Last night, as I was finishing my project, I was quietly sitting in my room crocheting. Out of nowhere, the song, “Welcome To Paradise” by the punk band Green Day popped into my head. Anyone else crochet with punk rock music in their head? I wouldn’t recommend it.

Gratefully my project is done, but now I have other projects to start. I don’t want to be the only thirty-something to “kick it” dressed like a hobo….fingerless gloves all around.

Gloves for you and gloves for you.

My favorite accessory is the baby.
My favorite accessory is the baby.

I did take a break after completing my gloves to play on our Indo board with the baby. The first time I got on an Indo board, I couldn’t stand on it without holding on to someone or something, now I can balance with a baby in my arms or on my shoulders.

I wore the same shirt two days in a row now...I may go for three days. We shall see
I wore the same shirt two days in a row now…I may go for three days. We shall see

My, what a life!

5 thoughts on ““Welcome To Paradise” My Cool Life

  1. Katie, that was fun to read your happenings on the Whipple wanch. I’m assuming that’s where you live now…I’m kinda jealous I have to admit! I wish I were back in the good ole country living.

    1. haha, Yes! I am on the Whipple Wanch! Country life is good. From what I hear, you’re still sort of in the country (just down the street from where I used to live!) – you wont have to live the city life forever, someday you’ll return to the land. I miss the city from time to time – mostly family in the city.

  2. LOL! You’re so funny! Way to go, the first thing I ever crocheted was a blanket and I haven’t ever done anything else since and you started with gloves . . . : D GREAT JOB!!!

  3. You crocheted gloves first AND tried to read a pattern? I’m impressed! My pattern-reading didn’t emerge until years after I learned how to double crochet row after row of baby afghan! As for the Indo board… I would definitely break my neck.

Leave a Reply

