Midwife Mary Getting Married

Mary helped me through 40+ hours of my labor nightmare, she didn’t actually catch the baby. During the second day of labor, she suggested that I transfer to the hospital in place of my planned home birth. I was more than happy to do what ever was needed to get that baby out and stop the pain. So, so painful.

A room full of one of my favorite snacks!
A room full of one of my favorite snacks! I got to eat off the broken pretzel pile. Yum.

After we arrived at the hospital, Mary continued to assist in my hospital delivery and the medical doctor was more than happy to let her do it – with the understanding that legally he needed to deliver the baby. I could not have done it without her or him. But this post isn’t about my planned home birth, this is about Mary.

and more!

She is a lovely talented person, who was instrumental in legalizing home births in the state of Missouri – without her persistence – thousands of women in Missouri would have been unhappy with their state forced hospital births. With all that she does, I’m not sure she gets much sleep – ever.

Sleep makes baby sad, he doesn't like to miss out on life around him. "Sleep is for dogs and cats."
Sleep makes baby sad, he doesn’t like to miss out on life around him. “Sleep is for dogs and cats.” He refused to nap today…. until the car ride home. Hahahaha!

Today I had the opportunity to help Mary and her family/friends put together delicious wedding favors: chocolate covered pretzels. You name it, they made it. My favorite is the chocolate covered in toasted coconut. Yummy.

See, just like an Austen novel, us fancy ladies sitting around tying ribbons.
See, just like an Austen novel, us fancy ladies sitting around tying ribbons. Although, I sat in the corner wearing my Dickie overalls and Sperry’s – real fancy.

I haven’t seen or spoken to Mary since the baby was about six weeks old. Which is weird, because it seems like last month. It’s not likely I’ll ever feel like a stranger with Mary. Once you share something like childbirth, how could you be strangers?

Baby didn't remember her too well...she did what mom?
Baby didn’t remember her too well….but seems to know that she’s “good people.”

I’m glad her life is moving forward, but I know this means she wont be taking as many patients in the coming years, as she hopes to start her own family.

Mary Kisses

Well, at least I have some tasty wedding favors to look forward to next weekend.

I’m so thrilled she found a good man.

She and her husband-to-be will make lovely babies too.

Mary is getting Married
Mary is getting Married! Mary Married – Mary Married – Marry Married

I’ll take some photos of the wedding, I’m sure they’re going to do it up “real nice.”

2 thoughts on “Midwife Mary Getting Married

Leave a Reply

