February 2nd: A First For Us Both

WEDDING DAY FOR BEN AND MARY – a day she will want to live over and over and over again….this was a pretty good day.

Waiting
The groom waits as the long procession makes way for his beautiful bride.

My infant son was so enthused about going to a wedding with my mother and I – we were so glad his enthusiasm didn’t ruin the ceremony. My son is one of Mary’s “babies.” Today, as the sanctuary filled up around us, I noticed hundreds of babies – literally. “Hazards” of being a midwife.

I believe there was 9 brides maids and 7 flower girls?
I believe there was 9 brides maids and 7 flower girls? So much love surrounding this new couple – she has 9 siblings and he has 10?

I love weddings – I always have – but going to a wedding after my marriage is even more fun. It is nice to remember the promises I made with my companion. The older couple sitting on the pew in front of me (with 9 children in tow) were sharing happy glances with one another during the ceremony remembering their promises.

The Bride arrives and neither bride nor groom could stop smiling!!
The Bride arrives and neither bride nor groom could stop smiling!!

My husband wasn’t there, but I was holding my son – who is a product of the love that Dan and I have – and I couldn’t think of a better addition to a marriage than children.

Singing a hymn  and praises to God - who gives us all that we have
Singing a hymn and praises to God – who gives us all that we have

I didn’t know what to expect when it came to the ceremony. The ceremony was conducted with so much attention given to God first and second to the couple being united in marriage. Without God, what is a marriage?

Should I be taking pictures while people sing hymns? It was so fun capturing the happiness!
Should I be taking pictures while people sing hymns? I couldn’t resist capturing the happiness!

A string quartet played before the ceremony began – a brass ensemble then played as the bride was walked down the aisle by her father. A prayer was given and an opening hymn followed. The father of the bride gave her away on behalf of he and his late wife (whom I’m positive was attending in spirit).

Receiving advice - it's always good for me to hear it as a refresher! Listen UP!
Receiving advice – it’s always good for me to hear it as a refresher! Listen UP!

After the “I Do’s” were said, Ben and Mary shared a first kiss as husband and wife:

Hubba Hubba - prepare for face rash Mary!!! (Hope he shaved really close this morning)
Hubba Hubba – prepare for face rash Mary!!! (Hope he shaved really close this morning)

My husband and I’s first kiss was on February 2nd 2011 – we had just finished watching Groundhog’s Day (movie with Bill Murray – a favorite).

The baby was wet, tired and hungry – so I needed to go outside to get his diaper bag. On my way back inside I snapped the wedding departure vehicle:

GO FORTH and Mulitply
On the tailgate is written: GO FORTH and Multiply – have fun you kids.

When I returned to the reception I saw Eva, Mary’s birth assistant and one of the reasons I survived childbirth – she is a saint!

Eva my doula! She is awesome!
Eva my doula! She is awesome!

I wanted to snap a photo with her – the last time my son had contact with Eva was the wee hours of the morning of his birth.

Baby couldn’t be bothered with photographs – luckily it wasn’t his wedding day.

I grabbed my camera and put it around my neck – as I didn’t want to leave my expensive camera unattended while I went in search of a quiet and dark room to nurse the baby. I happen to find one…

quietly observing the start of their new life together
quietly observing the start of Ben and Mary’s new life together – SMILES

The “quiet” room in the back of the sanctuary (behind glass) was the perfect place to nurse the baby and quietly watch husband and wife take photographs together. I felt like a fly on the wall, as I felt the joy they felt, I saw the smiles and the joy they had in being together. Lucky for me I had my camera.

DSC_1122When I finished nursing the baby – I walked back to the reception hall to discover the happy couple taking more photos together. Ben and Mary, if life should ever feel frustrating and you have difficulty liking each other for one reason or another – you will have a billion photos – look at them and remember.

It's good to know we are not alone in this journey we call life.
It’s good to know we are not alone in this journey we call life.

I am no professional photographer – more of a casual observer – but it was really cool to walk by and take this photo:

DSC_1124Mary is looking at my camera lens and Ben is looking at the professional…. well, maybe it was because I was holding a baby too? Mary can’t resist those babies and any day now, she will have her own baby to cuddle.

If every day isn’t fun together – you’re doing it wrong – start over and think of the other person. Life is going to be great!

WHOO HOO!

3 thoughts on “February 2nd: A First For Us Both

  1. I really enjoyed getting to read your article and getting to see photos so soon… Thanks!
    ~Carissa (not Clarissa!! LOL)

Leave a Reply

