Game Of Pride: Match Point

MY MY, it's the Bride
MY MY, it’s the Bride

My Dad and I were just talking world history. What I can never comprehend is why world wars happen….can’t we all just get along?

I may or may not be bossy...but that's because I am always right.....
I may or may not be bossy…but that’s because I am always right…..

For the sake of my post, I’m going to start with Napoleon – you know, the Emperor of France – General Extarodinaire. He was kicking butts all over the European continent and England and Prussia (two other European Awesomes) were not so pleased with All of Napoleon’s “Match Points” in being the best.

Welcome to my life husband....now this is how I do things
Welcome to my life husband….now this is how I do things

So England and Prussia got together and stopped Napoleon at…..Waterloo? I’m not a history major, just enthusiast…so forgive me if I’m totally wrong here.

Attention people WEDDING dress here, give me attention.
Attention people WEDDING dress here, give me attention.

Some feelings were hurt over this people – REAL hurt. Which, as we know, led to World War I and then World War II. Loads of casualties – and they can’t be taken back.

We Are Together Forever now, this party of me turns into we.
We Are Together Forever now, this party of me turns into we.

Marriage begins with two people who come from different homes, different ways of understanding life, different standards of living, different habits, and most obviously we are different sexes. Male + Female = instant misunderstanding.

DSC_0466

I think sometimes human beings will count up the hurts – and when one of the two will get annoyed with all the points (in tennis “match point”) being accumulated from offenses by the other person – it leads to a small fight over beans.

The surfboard on top of the cake behind the kissing monkeys is a replica of Dan's
The surfboard on top of the cake behind the kissing monkeys is a replica of Dan’s. This was made by a nurse friend of mine, who happens to make cakes as a hobby.

There may not be yelling, maybe just an annoyed exchange of words…which leaves nothing accomplished other than, now both husband and wife are upset.

You can't have more than one person leading while you dance, toes get stepped on.
You can’t have more than one person leading while you dance, toes get stepped on.

World Wars can be prevented, Divorce can be prevented, by being willing to surrender the pride that’s been hurt and communicate the real problem.

Husband is a good leader....I'm not a great follower, but I'm learning.
Husband is a good leader….I’m not a great follower, but I’m learning.

I think my husband is less selfish than I am – I’m grateful for that – he and I both want our marriage to get better and better every day, every year. Both of us want unity in our home and community.

we can both be good at things, we can admire the good in each other.
we can both be good at things, we can admire the good in each other.

Someday, we hope for unity and peace in the world. Call us a bunch of hippies. But, then again, I believe it was Jesus who first wore long hair, a beard, sandals, and went about spreading peace and love (real love) – so I think ‘Christians’ would be a better term for us.

Love is more than a word people, it’s an action.

Overcoming our pride to say, “I’m sorry” is the most difficult part of being married.

One thought on “Game Of Pride: Match Point

Leave a Reply

