The Legacy Of Manliness Permeates

Literally permeating in and out of the house – the smell of smoked venison.

He does his job very well
He does his job very well

My husband was the only resident of our house that shot deer last season – he bleed the meat out on ice, cut the meat off the bones and put the meat into freezer bags for a later processing date.

My youngest brother helped him cut up some of the meat and I did a little bit of cutting at the end. There were two deer. Dan did the bulk of the work.
My youngest brother helped him cut up some of the meat and I did a little bit of cutting at the end. There were two deer. Dan did the bulk of the work.

Saturday the meat came out of the deep freeze to defrost and Dan bought a smoker.

About four hours of his morning grinding, no big deal.....
About four hours of his morning grinding, no big deal…..

Today my husband processed the meat: season, grind and package. He made hamburger and sausage links.

Baby looks on and hopes to someday get to help Daddy more.
Baby looks on and hopes to someday get to help Daddy more with Man’s Work.

I hadn’t eaten, from what I can remember, meat like this EVER until I met Dan and married into his family.

We got the sausage casings, grinder and seasonings from Bass Pro Shop.
We got the sausage casings, grinder and seasonings from Bass Pro Shop….the “gett’n place.”

My super Father-in-law hunts, cooks and processes his own game as does my husband’s maternal Grandfather (you all know him as Papa).

Tired of filling sausage casings, the rest of the meat was ground into hamburger.
Tired of filling sausage casings, the rest of the meat was ground into hamburger.

With so many manly men in our family, I have no doubt that my son will learn these same skills and someday feed his own family.

Sausage is gett'n smoked at the moment. Smoker from Walmart, the place to be for rural life. Seriously.
Sausage is gett’n smoked at the moment. Smoker from Walmart, the place to be for rural life. Seriously.

That little man of mine is growing so fast!

Sitting on his uncle's shoulders watching his Daddy!
Sitting on his uncle’s shoulders watching his Daddy!

Also, over the weekend, my Sister-in-law had her baby girl and is now the proud mother of two beautiful children. I’d post photos…but we are 18 hours away. Maybe by the summer you can see them…after I do, eh?

Hope you're Monday is grill'n or smoke'n... vegg'n (for you vegans/vegetarians) and sweet.
Hope you’re Monday is grill’n or smoke’n… vegg’n (for you vegans/vegetarians) and sweet.

Happy Presidents’ Day indeed.

2 thoughts on “The Legacy Of Manliness Permeates

Leave a Reply

