Homeschool Rememebered

Math is math... you love it or hate it.This photo was taken 7 or 8 years ago.
Math is math… you love it or hate it.  I’ll let you guess how my youngest brother feels.
This photo was taken 7 or 8 years ago, he feels the same to this day.

This morning as I passed through the living room, where my mother sat in the leather wing backed chair in her flannel night gown (royal Stewart in white) home-schooling my two younger brothers.

They were talking about the Civil War – I know because she was talking about General Longstreet and General Jeb Stuart – so, barring some distant relatives I’m unaware of, I’m assuming they were discussing the Civil War.

Learning technical skills as well. (taken 2 years ago).
Learning technical skills in homeschool, from General Longstreet? (taken 2 years ago). What kind of recess is this?!
100_2793
This is the kind of recess I’m talking about! (taken 4 or 5 years ago).

Mom stops to mention, “oh, that was the year my Great Grandmother….” making history personal for her sons by talking about relatives who lived through the nightmare of the 1860’s in America.

Why does this feel special to me?

I was home schooled third, fourth and fifth grade. NOW, you know why I am a terrible speller. No, not true – I attribute my terrible spelling to my Kindergarden teacher in San Diego who was teaching twenty years past retirement.

First trip to England - March 1993. I'm on the far left in all black.
First trip to England – March 1993. I’m on the far left in all black.  Home School “Field Trip.”

Do I think there are Pros and Cons to both Home Schooling and Public Schooling?

Absolutely, but you’re going to have to wait till tomorrow because I need to scan more old photos from my home schooled days.

There is a big ice storm coming through and I may or may not have internet. If that’s the case, I’ll just have to busy my mind from books off the shelf over my internet reading. I’m am forever home schooling myself.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Homeschool Rememebered

  1. Photo evidence that even after mom started tweezing my eye brows there was still so much work on them to do. Poor, poor girl.

  2. I have been homeschooled most of my life and the few times I went to public school I didn’t really like it, but like you said there are pros and cons to both.

Leave a Reply

