There Has Been A Change Of Plans

Making the Best of a crap situation - and looking good doing it.
Making the Best of a crap situation – and looking good doing it.

Today’s post was supposed to be about my homemade pizza – sauce and dough   – made entirely of scratch. Instead, I was informed a few hours ago about the sudden death of my cousin Rex. Too young, he was too young.

Making his mother proud every damn day.
Making his mother proud every single day.

Rex was in Afghanistan serving in the US ARMY, when an Afghany soldier took his life.

He Loved
He Loved

Rex was a lover and a fighter – an athlete, a goof ball, a poet

As Aunt Kathy put it, he gave the best hugs.

He was a rascal of the best sort. When he was a young kid, he could drive me nuts and I would still hug him – because he had a good heart.

Thank you for your service to our country, which cost you your life, thank you for being true to yourself and for telling your mother you loved her – she will remember that forever. Thank you for being honest (because I would have totally believed those were your words and not Pink Floyd).

To the Afghany soldier who took my cousin’s life:

Allah is not happy with you – in fact – He is ashamed at your actions today that resulted in the death of a good man. Allah will certainly not reward your choice in taking an innocent man’s life, a man who was sacrificing his time away from home to make your country a better place. You may, Mr Afghany, find in the after life, that Allah is rewarding my Cousin Rex – as he is now having a sweet reunion with his Nana and Auntie Tina.  The real sufferers in my cousin’s death are his fiance Sabrina, his mother Colleen, his brother Max, his Grandad, his Grandparents, his aunts, uncles, cousins and friends who are left to live on in this world. I still trust in God, the same Allah you call upon – He is just and comforting – and I have comfort in knowing that families are forever. So although, it will be some time before a family reunion in heaven for my family – I’m not so certain of your fate Mr Afghany.  I sincerely hope the Lord has mercy on your soul – wherever you may be – because you are going to need it.

Sweet Reunions for Rex, while the rest of us endure
Sweet Reunions for Rex, while the rest of us endure

Your prayers are requested for the family and fiance left behind

5 thoughts on “There Has Been A Change Of Plans

  1. Rest in Peace Rex. I will be praying for the loved ones you left behind. We will all miss you, and i’m honored to know you for the time that I did.

  2. Rest in Peace Rex. Unfortunately I did’nt get to meet you but I knew you very well from what my daughter Sabrina said about you…Our hearts are broken….My deepest sympathy to all Rex’s family

Leave a Reply

