Day One Of Camping With An Infant Is The Easiest

Setting up camp, baby and I change clothes as the weather was warmer than I expected.
Setting up camp, baby and I change clothes as the weather was warmer than I expected.

The first day of our family camp out, I was well rested and showered. We found a campsite along side the Current River in southern Missouri. There were no other campers near by, just our small band of family and friends.

Oh what mom?
Oh, what mom?
This rock? well, I ah...
This rock? well, I ah…
I was just going to put it in my mouth to taste it.
I was just going to put it in my mouth to taste it.

It was the first camp out I’ve had in a few years, the first with my husband and the first with a baby. I wasn’t sure how things would go, but I had my husband Mr Outdoors and new gear from Christmas to keep me well cared for.

As the temperature dropped, I put more layers of clothing on myself and the baby.
As the temperature dropped, I put more layers of clothing on myself and the baby.
My mother, 58 years old, is such a trooper, made the trip and so did Spencer (a family friend) who is my new favorite baby sitter.
My mother, 58 years old, is such a trooper, made the trip and so did Spencer (a family friend) who is my new favorite baby sitter.

I changed my clothes twice after we arrived at the site, first I was warm while we set up camp and I put on shorts, while later the temperature dropped, eventually into the lower thirties (Fahrenheit), which lead me to another change for warmth. For sleeping in lower 30 degree weather, I had a silk sleeping bag liner, an outer shell covering my 20° Cosmic Down Kelty sleeping bag and my husband suggested a Nalgene with boiling hot water in the bottom of my bag to keep me toasty all night long…I heartily accepted; while Dan had the baby snuggled with him in his 15° Big Agnes sleeping bag.

The boys each made dinners, while Dan and I made super de-lish steak and potato foil dinners.
The boys each made dinners, my brother’s friend brought his Salad Master frying pan and opted out of foil dinners…while Dan and I made super de-lish steak and potato foil dinners. Foil every now and again doesn’t bother me one bit.

Everything was peachy until bed time came and went with our infant son refusing to go to bed, instead preferring to stay up all night. Eventually, my husband took the baby’s outer clothes meant to keep him warm – to our surprise – the baby slept better in his onesie than in his sweatpants. Who knew? Not us.

Day One closes with marshmallows burning on a cold night.
Day One closes with marshmallows burning on a cold night.

I need to recoup from Family Bonding Time during Spring Break. Hello Monday.

One thought on “Day One Of Camping With An Infant Is The Easiest

  1. Fun! I can’t even remeber the last time I got to go camping . . . we thought about sleeping outside on Friday night since we were at my grandparents house . . . I love being able to see so many stars and to just feel the fresh air around me . . . : )

Leave a Reply

