A Belated Post About A Very Un-Birthday Party

DSC_1381
Happy almost First Baby!

My in-laws drove 12 hours to spend two short days with us over Easter weekend. They wanted to visit and see the baby, so we decided to have birthday party to celebrate baby’s almost First Birthday!

I found the perfect recipe!
I found the perfect recipe!

I tried out several recipes for cupcakes in the month or two leading up to Easter, to find the most delicious cupcake EVER.

My littler milk sucker.
My little milk suckers, baby drinks mom’s, daddy drinks the cows….isn’t the bow tie darling? My mother-in-law made that!

I found these grasshopper/thin mint divine chocolate yummies over at a blog called, yourcupofcake! They are super delicious and my advice to any who want to duplicate the recipe…sift the ground up cookies! SIFT THEM! Or you will gum up your frosting tips.

Making the cupcakes turned into a group effort.
Making the cupcakes turned into a group effort.

The cupcakes were a bit labor intensive, my mother-in-law helped me make the ganache, while I made the frosting, then my mother and MIL hurriedly dipped the cupcakes in the ganache just before dinner started. Plan ahead to made these things.

Ready to watch the un-birthday boy eat his first cupcake!
Ready to watch the un-birthday boy eat his first cupcake!

My son’s birthday is in late April, but we sang happy birthday (11 months now!) and his daddy helped him blow out the one candle on top of baby’s mini cupcake.

and....
and….look at those blue eyes?!

We all watched (breathlessly) while the baby pulled the plate with chocolately goodness toward himself.

hmmmm...maybe he didn't see it?
hmmmm…maybe he didn’t see it?

He wanted the plate.

My first reaction? He might not be my son….

No, I remember, he is definitely my son. Hmmmmm.

oh wait...
oh wait…

Okay, so he is still mostly breastfed.

DSC_1390

So, apparently this kid who eats raw onions and broiled asparagus does not care for chocolate cupcakes.

DSC_1391I don’t know what to say.

but this plate on the other hand is AWESOME.
but this plate on the other hand is AWESOME!

He also eats carpet fuzz, dirt, leaves and grass.

tastes pretty good.
tastes pretty good.

The cupcake went un-eaten, but I’m thinking maybe this kid will be an engineer like the other men in his daddy’s family. Ever the little scientist, he needs to know what the product’s properties are before he can determine what to do with it.

I'm a mean mom, I took the plate in hopes he would try my baked good. NO DICE.
I’m a mean mom, I took the plate in hopes he would try my baked good. NO DICE.

Ah, well, baby-led weaning is my adventure as well as his.

Happy boy!
Happy boy!

Baby was happy to have his Nona & (Grampa S doesn’t have a nickname yet – it has to be awesome). We love family visits and look forward to our trip down to Texas to see them this summer.

To those who worry their baby wont gain enough weight drinking mom's milk, I give you our little chunk.
We miss you Nona and Papa Kenbo!!!

Friday is for Lovers…lovers of music, lovers of food, lovers of good friends and family.

Happy Friday ya’ll.

3 thoughts on “A Belated Post About A Very Un-Birthday Party

  1. Hilarious to see so much excitement over a plate versus a delicious cupcake! Did you eat the spurned mini cake? Did your Mini Me inherit your ears?

    1. well, it’s a toss between baby having my ears or Danny’s…either way, baby was doomed 🙂 cupcakes were really good, super rich minty and moist. We just let the garbage eat the mashed mini cake…I haven’t stooped to licking things off the high chair.

Leave a Reply

