What A Difference A Year Can Make

The doctor in Texas (before my move to rural Missouri and before I decided to have a home birth) told me my due date for my son was April 16th, but that I would, “probably deliver the baby about April 30th.”  OK.

It was my first pregnancy, my first 9 months with constant migraines and the first year of my marriage. What a combination eh? Let me tell ya, it was no walk in the park, but it can work.

My husband was able to escape now and then from his ragingly hormonal and uncomfortable wife, “lucky guy.”

Husband out with younger brother - enjoying the weather.
Husband out with younger brother – enjoying the weather.

I admit, I was not an easy person to live with most days. I’m grateful the brand new husband didn’t cut and run for the hills….well, I guess he did, to longboard, but he always came back.

Some days when I was feeling mostly ‘OK’ I would go outside for something fun.

Jumping on the trampoline with my three younger brothers...but not too high. Boy did I get some good laughs in.
Jumping on the trampoline with my husband and three younger brothers…but not too high. Boy did I get some good laughs in.

Danny would encourage me to go outside. Going outside really is a cure all for all of my problems.

I wanted this baby, but I didn’t like what came with being pregnant.

So, come April 16 2012…I was feeling like this horrible thing call pregnancy would NEVER END!

SO, I asked my mom to go on a walk with me.

Due date....
Due date….

I needed serenity.

Mom had me lunging to get the baby into a good position.
Mom had me lunging to get the baby into a good position.

I was laughing and talking to mom as I lunged up the hill, rotating my hips at each step.

Being outside does make everything all better.
Being outside does make everything all better.

I still felt huge at the end of the walk, but I felt more at peace with my life and my body.

My son was born that same week – that was a horrifying first birth – but here I sit, one year later, remembering the horrifying delivery of my first child.

The uncomfortable 9 months and painful 48 hours of delivery are overshadowed by the little boy I have been loving and serving the last year.

I’m contemplating doing it all over again to bring another little baby into our family.

Contemplating.

Welcome Tuesday, it’s good to see you.

I didn’t make time to read over for misspellings. Lo Siento

Leave a Reply

