Perpetual Summer Camp: Our Life On the Wanch

Danny teaches baby at a tender age:  Man Skills.
Danny teaches baby at a tender age: Man Skills.

My parents call home the “Wanch” – which is a joke name we call it, it does have an official name ‘Glen Creek Farms’ – which is where my small family has called home for a year and three months……

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I step outside every single day and thank God for this beautiful earth. I’m constantly reminded of my years spent out at girls camp or camp TAKATOKA, a YMCA camp in north east Oklahoma, as a camper and later a counselor.

DSC_1695Those were the days I would think to myself, “I could live here forever!” I consider it a small miracle that my husband decided to go to school in Missouri and that my parents allowed us to live in the small apartment in their basement.

Nailed it - although Danny said you're not suppose to shot the arrows this close, he wanted to see if he could.
Nailed it – although Danny said you’re not suppose to shot the arrows this close, he wanted to see if he could.

So, for the last year and three months, I have been able to live in a cabin, in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by the wonder sights and sounds of Mother Nature.

I’m always picking a different time of day that is my favorite out here.

In the morning – no wait – the evening, when the sun is setting (or rising) over the pond. The ducks are paddling across the water, while the cows and sheep graze quietly (or nosily) beyond the house in a beautiful green pasture.

I take my infant son on daily walks – so I can stay healthy and active – where baby looks curiously at the world around him.

OH LOOK, he nabbed a stuffing stingray?
OH LOOK, he nabbed a stuffing stingray?

I love how even the slightest thing can trigger a memory – the way the light hits a stream, or the sound of water flowing over the rocks. The steam as it rises off the water early in the morning.  The color of the sunset (red sky at night, a sailor’s delight….) as it sets behind the farm.

Good Shot Daddy!
Good Shot Daddy!

I’m happy to show my baby the good things in this world – there is so much good in it – I can’t wait to watch him grow up (meanwhile I get older too….)

Danny and I happily plan our future together.

Yeah, Robin Hood up in the woods here
Yeah, Robin Hood up in these woods here. He can’t resist the urge to be silly on camera.

Now that my husband has completed the last two semesters at a community college, twenty hours of A’s, that’s right 4.0 GPA, hopefully the school of his choice will accept him (I can’t see why they wouldn’t).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We will be moving on from our perpetual summer camp life and back into town, where the traffic never stops and the neon signs keep flashing.

I want to live here forever.
I want to live here forever…or maybe, “I’m going to teeth forever, bwahaha!”

I’ve been so happy to stay here, but we are also ready for the next adventure in our life together.

What does the future hold?

Well, for me, in two weeks I’m flying to Portland, OR to see my sister and her family, while Danny goes camping or hiking…or something else involving the great outdoors.

Life Is Good
Life Is Good, even with a teething baby.

This flight to Portland will be baby’s first flight – almost 8 hours from Springfield, MO to Portland, OR – any helpful tips with infant flying are greatly appreciated.

teething...always teething
teething…always teething

Life is awesome.

Hamming it up like his Daddy.
Hamming it up like his Daddy.

Happy Thursday Folks – for us that means the trash man cometh and the weekend is near.

awwww...that's nice.
awwww…that’s nice.

2 thoughts on “Perpetual Summer Camp: Our Life On the Wanch

Leave a Reply

