Our Nursery Is Filling Up With Chicks

DSC_1682My mom has been incubating a large group of chicken and turkey eggs the last month and the chickens are hatching (the turkey eggs have about another week before hatching).

DSC_1687

My son loves to watch the chicks run around “cheep, cheep, cheep” -ing, it’s educational and entertaining.

DSC_1690He wants to hold them and squeeze them so bad….but, we just let him pet them for now.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

He likes to throw things into the tub that the chicks might like, books, yo-yo’s, things he finds in the trash can, luckily I’m also two steps behind him and no harm is done.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We hatched a few chickens a few weeks ago and they have already been moved to the barn – but this last batch is the largest that has been incubated. We just need to see these chicks into adulthood – my parents have a dog that LOVES to eat her some maturing chickens….we have devised a solid plan for protecting these new ones.

SAVE THE CHICKS!
SAVE THE CHICKS!

We have dozens of farm fresh – free range – NON GMO – eggs piling up in our fridge.

DSC_1700When I was in high school, our family owned chickens. We had a few roosters in the bunch and my parents decided to eat two of the roosters. I remember the process entirely.

DSC_1702

The slaughter, the plucking, and boiling…. none of which I was actually a part of, but I saw it!!!

DSC_1703I’m still scared and I remember sitting at the dinner table staring down at my bowl of rooster noodle soup and I couldn’t eat it. I just couldn’t. It’s like, eating the family dog.

DSC_1706I knew them since they were babies for goodness sake! They were so cute. Some how, I don’t have that feeling toward the cows that we butcher, maybe because the cows annoy me more?

DSC_1707I wont eat you little guy…I mean, I don’t plan to eat you.

One thought on “Our Nursery Is Filling Up With Chicks

  1. LOL! : D I can remember when my grandparents got baby chicks. We always had so much fun playing with them!

Leave a Reply

