I Always Love A Good Trip To The Pacific Northwest

A long wait in Dallas
A long wait in Dallas

I finished packing my bags Thursday morning last week and told myself I had plenty of time to get to the airport for my flight out to Portland, OR.

He really enjoyed pushing his stroller all over the DFW airport - I sure the other travelers looooved it.
He really enjoyed pushing his stroller all over the DFW airport – I sure the other travelers looooved it.

At the start of the hour drive to Springfield, MO I rechecked the time of my flight. The time was 11:42am…my flight leaves at 1:10pm….WHAT?! I told my ride/my youngest sister Kaylan where I needed to be and what time. If you ever need to get somewhere in miraclous timing – call Kaylan.

Yeah, just your everyday electrical car re-juicers...doesn't every parking lot have them? We aren't so rural this week guys.
Yeah, just your everyday electrical car re-juicers…doesn’t every parking lot have them? We aren’t so rural this week guys. Vancouver, WA.

By 12:55 I was dropped at the airport and ran to the American airlines counter to check in and it was too late to check bags, so I hauled my two bags and my one year old in a stroller – as fast as TSA will allow – all the way to the end of the terminal just in time to catch my flight.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As fate would have it, I got stuck at DFW (Dallas Forth Worth) almost 7 hours – one hour inside the airlpane while we sat on the tarmac. Lightning and tornados were sweeping through the midwest again to remind us humans that we are not the biggest and baddest things on earth.

Mr Baby T - four months old
Mr Baby T – four months old

After a long flight and no sleep the baby and I landed in Portland just after 11pm – where my sister welcomed me and informed me that she had dinner for me (HALLELUJAH!! Hall-LE-LU-jah!).

I haven’t seen my sister since my wedding two years ago – so this trip was long over due. I’ve got plenty of photos to post, but since I’m still here visiting with her and her adorable children…I have been preoccupied.

How could you not be preoccupied with a face like that?
How could you not be preoccupied with a face like that?

Every time we drive anywhere, the grocery store, the library, the zoo…I am transfixed by the beautiful scenery here. I love coming here. Oh yeah, I love visiting my sister and her family too.

DSC_1702

It’s Friday, but somehow it feels like a Wednesday – I’m not sure why.

Happy National Eat A Donut Day?

One thought on “I Always Love A Good Trip To The Pacific Northwest

  1. I’m so sorry! That’s why we always drive everywhere, but having to make a road trip that far away would take a long time! : )

Leave a Reply

