The Greatest Job In The World

I have had some pretty cool jobs and boring jobs and jobs I’d like to forget.

My little man...just out of bed in the morning.
My little man…just out of bed in the morning. This was also taken right before his first hair cut!

My very first job was at Big Sky Bread of Oklahoma, I was 15 (almost 16). My dad and oldest sister were (dad still is) good friends with the owner, so he took a chance on me. I wasn’t the best employee, I think because I didn’t like to work, but I was cheerful and I showed up. I only lasted a few months.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When I was sixteen I worked at Steinmart – I had a new manager every few weeks – I worked Thanksgiving and Christmas Eve…that was too annoying for a 16 year old girl who didn’t like to work…and on top of that, I had to train every new person on how to work the front register –  I lasted until the summer, where I had the opportunity to go out of town with my friend Stephanie or go to work and I choose out of town. Yeah, I still cringe when I think of that. Even if I didn’t like working there, SO Irresponsible!

A little dance break for baby and his cousins S and T
A little dance break for baby and his cousins S and T

There were serving jobs – senior year of high school and a few serving jobs in college – I was again cheerful and upbeat, showed up to work, but I was a lousy server. I just wasn’t that in to ‘it’, I wasn’t desperate for money.

S, dancing around kitchen. My sister gave up a good career to have babies too. She is  a good mommy too.
S, dancing around kitchen. My sister gave up a good career to have babies too. She is a good mommy too.

Then my job as an athletic trainer, I happened to fall into that career. I didn’t know what I wanted to study in college and my grandfather set up an interview for me with the program director at The University of Tulsa. I had no pre-concieved idea about what would happen during the interview, but I left hooked. I knew then that this was going to be my educational path.

Baby T, four months old - he smiles so much and I never captured that!
Baby T, four months old – he smiles so much and I never captured that!

Athletic Training was unpredictable, hands on, learn as you go, and I got to watch a lot of sports….a lot of sports. After college, I was the type of girl to sit around on a Saturday and watch a football game on TV and scream at basketball games (all alone…) on TV while watching the Final Four.

Ah, I had a donut craving
Ah, I had a donut craving Where else would you go?

My first job out of college was with a big Division I school, which I wanted to apply to because I thought it would be the best place for me. Since I had a really hard time liking my experience there, I’m not going to mention the school – part of me thinks I was just having a hard time dealing with all the change, but the other part of me knows that some of the people there were really not kind to me. I got along with the athletes I worked with, just wanted to point that out. I’m just grateful that part of my life is over.

Mana comes in a pink box.
Mana comes in a pink box.

The summer just after I graduated from college (right before I started my job at the Big Division I University) I worked as a camp counselor at Camp Takatoka. The YMCA of Greater Tulsa runs an overnight summer camp out on Lake Ft Gibson, around the Chouteau, Oklahoma area. It was the one of the best summers of my life. I made great friends (foreign and domestic), learned how to wakeboard, got a tan, invent activities for kids to do during the long hot days, rode horses and got in my first car wreck. I may have to do a post all about that summer, because it wont fit into this one. I enjoyed working at this kids summer camp so much, I returned the next summer (when my contract with BIG SCHOOL was up!)…ah, to be young again.

hm, I lived in Texas...I'm positive that 'Keep Austin Weird' came first, but that's just the Texan talk'n.
hm, I lived in Texas…I’m positive that ‘Keep Austin Weird’ came first, but that’s just the Texan talk’n.

It was during the summer of 2006 I decided that I wanted to go to medical school,  I enrolled for a summer chemistry class.

Although I didn’t end up going to medical school, I had several chemistry classes (General, Organic, Bio) and decided I wanted to try teaching. I taught for one year and decided you can not pay me enough to teach in the public school systems. There are so many tragic stories from students, so many discipline problems, so many kids who are not loved and don’t love. I met my future husband during that year, and he took me away and made me a mother.

DSC_1801

I have had several more jobs that I haven’t mentioned, but I could write all day long about all the jobs I’ve had. But I wanted to say that Motherhood was the first job I had that didn’t feel like work to me. I’m on call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, holidays included (no extra pay) and I would rather be a full time mother than have any other job in the world. Occasionally, I look at someone who has an exciting career and think, “that would be fun…but not fun enough to take me away from my son.”

DSC_1732

I think the sacrifice I make in staying home with my son and not going to work is worth it to me. We don’t have our own home yet, because my husband is in school and we want to stay out of debt. We don’t have extra funds for weekly pedicures or massages (I sure wish we did), we don’t take weekend excursions to Branson, or some other tourist place for couples weekends, we don’t do a lot of things because I don’t work. This phase of my life and my son’s life will be over so quickly and I will be able to do those things then, but I don’t want to miss out on spending time with my babies.

Yes, babies. I’m pregnant again. Due close to Christmas Day.

It’s Thursday, I slept in and cuddled with my 13 month old this morning. Than, baby and I ate some dark chocolate. This is the life.

One thought on “The Greatest Job In The World

  1. Congrats! That’s so exciting!!!!! I still have awhile before I get to experience a family, but from all I have heard it sounds like the BEST THING EVER!

Leave a Reply

