Exploring Missouri’s Hidden Gems

DSC_1701
Round Springs is about 1.5 hours from our home. A bit long, but scenic.

Some friends invited us to join them on the Current River for a river clean up last Saturday. “The Stream Team” is a group of conservationists, volunteers and State Park employees that gather several times a year to keep the rivers clean.

It’s unfortunate that individual river riders don’t keep their beer cans, coke cans. drugs, folding camp chairs and the usual hats and socks (plastic diapers – eww!) out of the river after a visit. Thus it is and there are some people “THE STREAM TEAM” who care so much they clean up after those lazy, selfish ‘litter bugs.’

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After our drive up to Round Springs, we got out of the truck to explore and stretch our legs. I took the lens cap off my camera and it was so humid – it took several minutes for the camera lens to stop fogging up.

For those who are scared of being in the wilderness without toilets (!) or Rangers near by, rest assured, you are not completely alone out here.
For those who are scared of being in the wilderness without toilets (!) or Rangers near by, rest assured, you are not completely alone out here.

The Spring is found by following a trail into the forest. It was SO HOT and the water bubbling up from the fresh water spring was SO COLD, there was an eeire or mystical, depends on your imagination, mist that enveloped the area.

"Swamp Thing, you make my heart sing....you make every thing...Groovy."
“Swamp Thing, you make my heart sing….you make every thing…Groovy.”

I was overly excited about this area I took way too many photos.

I snapped a photo of our friends across the spring, you can't see Juliet very well...she is wearing green, but you can see Jason.
I snapped a photo of our friends across the spring, you can’t see Juliet very well…she is wearing green, but you can see Jason.

The summer rains have caused the spring to be full of more plant life than usual, it is typically a clear blue pool. I put my feet in the water to cool off a bit, I was turning into a sweaty mess.

The path that ends at the bottom of the photo is where I dipped my feet into the cool water. And I am taking the photo from where I snapped the photo of Jason and Juliet.
The path that ends at the bottom of the photo is where I dipped my feet into the cool water. And I am taking the photo from where Jason and Juliet were standing.

There are several stops along the trail where you can catch some perfect landscape art. I am a fan of art museums, but mother nature beats art museums – hands down.

A close up photo taken from the other side of the pool.
A close up photo taken from the other side of the pool.

We came to help with the river clean up, but we did a whole lot of “site-seeing”

Aside from the annoyed feelings aimed at lazy river goers, helping with a river clean up is what some professionals do on their weekends off, because of the beautiful and relaxing reward of communing with the outdoors.

This little guy wouldn't hold still for my close-up, it kept fluttering around. This is the best one I could get.
This little guy wouldn’t hold still for my close-up, it kept fluttering around. This is the best one I could get.

The back roads of Missouri are full of bends and hills, which can make some people, including myself, a bit car sick. The reward for surviving the drive is the hike you take when you get out of the car.

Danny's Kryptonite is green, just like Superman's Kryptonite is green....coincidence? I think not.
Danny’s Kryptonite is green, just like Superman’s Kryptonite is green….coincidence? I think not. (photo of poison ivy, Dan’s only enemy in nature).

Danny and I, with our children, are excited about joining the conservation of Missouri’s State Parks with the other Missouri dwellers.

Just be kind to the outdoors, keep them beautiful by keeping the trash out….just like you would treat your own body – keep the trash out.

Leave a Reply

