Another Home Birth: My Sister Is A Goddess

My husband and I had a visit with our doctor Monday morning to follow up our ER visit from Saturday. During the days that accompanied my miscarriage, I had so much love and so many prayers on behalf of my family, that I couldn’t feel too sad. On the same day I miscarried, I heard a first time pregnancy for another women had been miscarried too. I heard a former LDS Institute teacher of mine was in the hospital with the chance of a leg amputation from the thigh down. I heard a family friend lost her son-in-law in un-timely death. My sweet sister Klara, pregnant with her fifth child, was one week over due. I had so many prayers said on my behalf last weekend, but I was busy praying for other families….which is the best thing I could have done.

In thirty seconds, she'll be laughing again.
In thirty seconds, she’ll be laughing again.

We left Missouri last Tuesday, made stops to see family in Oklahoma on our way to Texas. My sweet sister was desperately trying to encourage labor with no success. We arrived in Spring, TX around 5:30pm June 26 and she began to have productive contractions sometime after 6pm.

Her husband was there every step of the way...my have things changed in child birth over the last sixty years!
Her husband was there every step of the way…my, have things changed in child birth over the last sixty years!

If I had known she was waiting for us to arrive, we would have come sooner.

DSC_1789
Behold, A Goddess At Work

Start to finish, she labored and delivered within six hours. It was beautiful. Dialated to 7cm and between each contraction Klara was laughing and talking like she was having a good time. I only had one baby and there was no laughing until the pain meds got injected through the IV and I definitely did not feel like I was having a good time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

She eventually pregressed to transition with more focus and less laughing after midnight. Just after 1am, my newest nephew came into the world. The amniotic sac had not broken and the baby’s head came out still encased inside the protective sac looking like an astronaut emerging wearing his helmet.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

BabyS

My sister is one of the strongest women I know – she is such a good mother – her children are brillant and cheerful. Klara at twenty-seven years of age and her husband at thirty-one are the parents of five beautiful children.

Just seconds later my sister is laughing again and asking for scrambled eggs.
Just seconds later my sister is laughing again and asking for scrambled eggs.

Most people might think they are crazy people for having SO MANY children and at SUCH A YOUNG AGE, to those people I say to you, “pisssh”. What purpose do we have as human beings without family? Family is central to the Creator’s Plan of Happiness.These children will make this world a better place, because their parents are teaching them good principles and good habits. What better way to show the world that God is optomistic, then by sending more babies into it…to shape it’s future?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m grateful to hold new babies, with their new smell and curious eyes. May we all live a little bit better, so the children may look to us and learn to be good.

My new little hobbit nephew, I shall call him Samwise!!! But that is not what his mother and father call him.
My new little hobbit nephew, I shall call him Samwise!!! But that is not what his mother and father call him.

4 thoughts on “Another Home Birth: My Sister Is A Goddess

  1. Thank you so much for this post, Katie. I loved it at the time, but somehow I love it even more now, when I have the perspective of three more years. You are keeping a great record of your family in photos and words that is dear to us and that will be treasured by those not yet born.

Leave a Reply

