Here Ye, Here Ye, My Husband Is Vindicated

Two weeks before we left Missouri for Texas, we went to a BBQ with friends. It was a large gathering following the river clean up (remember The Stream Team?).  After every river clean up, The Stream Team holds a BBQ and concludes with a raffle.

BBQ held at a former resort built in the 1920's
BBQ held at a former resort built in the 1920’s and now belongs to Missouri Parks.

So we gathered with our fellow conservationists and enjoyed grilled meat, GMO snacks covered in MSG (Cheeto Puffs are my favorite poison) and homemade baked goods.

There are still beds inside that are used by large groups occasionally.
There are still beds inside that are used by large groups occasionally.

The grand prize for the raffle is a new kayak.  Danny really wants a kayak.

DSC_1705

Along with the kayak were a number of other outdoors prizes, crochet set, neoprene life vest, fishing polls and tackle.  Danny saw on the table of prizes a Nalgene – which he immediately wanted to win – so when his name was the third one called to collect a prize, he grabbed that Nalgene.

My friend Juliet, my son and Juliet's step/daught Ali
My friend Juliet, my son and Juliet’s step/daught Ali

He came back and I said, “together we own at least four Nalgene bottles and you got another one? Didn’t you see anything else you liked?” Nope.

Here it is, what he always wanted.
Here it is, what he always wanted.

Oh well.

Summers are hot, might as well have another water bottle.
Summers are hot, might as well have another water bottle.

Now that we are down in southern Texas surviving the heat, we are both drinking lots of water and you’ll never guess what I’m drinking out of……

I was called to collect a prize near the end of the raffle.
I was called to collect a prize near the end of the raffle.

Husband vindicated.

DSC_1722

While we are on the topic of “see, I told you so..” I want to tell you about the pocket knife I carry in my diaper bag and use frequently.

Son was one of the very last names called!! He won Afterbite!! perfect, what every outdoorsy mama needs.
My son was one of the very last names called!! He won Afterbite!! perfect, what every outdoorsy mama needs.

Last year when Danny bought this ‘amazing’ knife by BUCK, he told me he wanted to get me the same one a size smaller. I told him, I didn’t need it and would never use it – I have used it many a time, even while sewing, who knew?

After the raffle party - an information session about local snakes.
After the raffle party – an information session about local snakes.

Danny did. Vindicated again.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s Wednesday, typical day plump with dirty diapers, dirty dishes, and dirty hair.

typical
typical. love my little boy.

One thought on “Here Ye, Here Ye, My Husband Is Vindicated

Leave a Reply

