The Sparkle That Keeps Me Going On Difficult Days

My son has been sick and teething the last week or so and the spitting and screaming accompanied by late nights and refusal to sleep has got me feeling worn out.  I’ve been looking for my sparkle lately.

Ah well, we forgot to grab his cloth diapers. Wow, these paper things are expensive and the cost adds up!
Ah well, we forgot to grab his cloth diapers. Wow, these paper things are expensive and the cost adds up!

I am having trouble remembering the little things and the big things, which makes me feel awful.  I’m so worn out, I told Danny today that I’m worried our trip to Costa Rica next week will be a bomb.

he finds joy in playing in the curtains.
he finds joy in playing in the curtains.

Here’s me hoping that tooth comes in before we take off.

and playing peek-a-boo
and playing peek-a-boo

In this whirlwind of exhaustion, I’m overwhelmed with gratitude for all that I do have.

I’m surrounded by family members that I don’t get to see very often and I love to see family.

DSC_1858

My son, although going through a rough spot right now, is so sweet and smart and funny, it’s hard to be annoyed that my hearing is going because he has destroyed my ear drums with all his screaming. I would do this mothering thing all over again and again, just to have the joy of being a mom. It’s kinda hard to explain unless you’ve been there.

DSC_1859

My husband loves me. So many marriages are in trouble, broken up and dysfunctional, that I daily thank God for bringing such a good man to me. WOW. He is also my very best friend.

DSC_1903

Time spent with family is priceless.  Even if we all sit around and quote movie lines, or better yet, talk about spiritual things – I’m surrounded by people who love me – I am reminded that not everyone has that in their life.

my niece enjoying my sister's perfect chip recipe.
my niece enjoying my sister’s perfect chip recipe.

I’m not living in poverty, I’m well fed, I’m well dressed, I’m educated

and when all else fails, there is chocolate.

All three of my sisters bake well, very well.
All three of my sisters bake well, very well.

Counting my blessings has help me find that missing sparkle.

p.s. Maddie P, I miss you too – hope your summer is going well back in Missouri.

 

 

One thought on “The Sparkle That Keeps Me Going On Difficult Days

  1. Oh my Goodness! It’s been way too long . . . Your post really brightened my day . . . These last few weeks have been long and I just needed to be reminded of the simple things that I should be greatful for. My summer has been OUTSTANDING! I couldn’t have asked for a better one! I miss you so much! Hope you enjoy the rest of your vacation!

Leave a Reply

