Our Central American Adventure Begins

Waiting on our ride to Costa RIca
Waiting on our ride to Costa RIca

My brother-in-law, Ryan, dropped our little family off at the airport early Friday morning. Things didn’t look good at the ticket counter when they couldn’t find us on the flight….then they found us and we got boarding passes. It was standing in line for the TSA check point, that I realized our nice Nikon camera was sitting in the back seat of Ryan’s car. Doh. So, Danny bought me a water proof Panasonic pocket camera.

"They" told us driving in Costa Rica would be dangerous....shoot, we love the way people drive down here!!! That's how we drive!
“They” told us driving in Costa Rica would be dangerous….shoot, we love the way people drive down here!!! That’s how we drive!

When we arrived in Costa Rica and went to the rental car place, the people told us that the insurance we purchased in the US to cover accidents in CR wasn’t valid down here, so we would have to buy their insurance. Doh.

those mosquito bites all over his face are form Texas mossies, we hardly saw any in CR.
those mosquito bites all over his face are from Texas mossies, we hardly saw any in CR.

We rented a cute little Suzuki Jimmy, that took every rugged hill like a champ! From San Jose, we had a two hour drive to Quepos/Manuel Antonio.

P1000032The drive was beautiful.

only a little traffic.
only a little traffic.

We didn’t have a GPS (which the rental car place insisted we have – no thanks) so we followed signs, read our map and prayed that we would get where we needed to go. We stopped just outside of Jaco (pronounced ‘HA-CO’ like ‘taco’, with a “ha” sound in front) to eat lunch. I ordered the typical black beans/rice, fried plantain, potatos and salad…with a side of steak. Danny helped me finish it after he ate up his shrimp.

Jaco
Jaco

We stopped in Jaco to see the waves and it seemed like a perfect day to catch some swells….but I was tired and my baby boy was driving me nuts, so I said, “we need to keep driving…” if only I had known.

We arrive in Quepos to find that our hotel had over booked and the only room they had was one without air conditioning.

We drove on towards Manuel Antonio and found this gorgeous five star hotel and I said, “Dan let’s stay here, just one night!” but it was too fancy for children. So we found a nice Bed and Breakfast.

Our first night in Manuel Antonio.
Our first night in Manuel Antonio.

DiDi’s Bed & Breakfast was so cute. We were only there one night and made friends with several nice Canadians.

I love it when he smiles.
I love it when he smiles.

Our son was having the time of his life…..and I thought this trip was for us grown ups?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was a long night. In the morning I realized why parents dump their kids off at gramma’s house so they can enjoy their vacation.

the back of our room faced the jungle.
the back of our room faced the jungle.

Although I liked the B&B, it wasn’t baby safe, there were too many opportunities for him to hurt himself. So Dan and I spent the whole time making sure he didn’t jump off the stairs or dive into the pool.

P1000070Safe, $45/night with light breakfast included.

pool sat next to the breakfast area and baby wanted in!
pool sat next to the breakfast area and baby wanted in!

If I went back with just adults/grown children who wouldn’t try to drown themselves in a pool, I’d stay at DiDi’s.

here is my "I think I still like you" face. He screamed all night and my head was killing me.
here is my “I think I might ship you home” face. He screamed all night and my head was killing me.

So we decided to leave after breakfast and find another place to stay before we began our exploration of the area.

here I am talking to the couple from Vancouver, British Columbia.
here I am talking to the couple from Vancouver, British Columbia.

Some things to take into consideration while traveling with babies. Make sure hotel room/surrounding areas are baby safe. Things I have never thought of before……

P1000080

One thought on “Our Central American Adventure Begins

Leave a Reply

