Rocky Beach, Dirt Roads, Welcome to Dominical

Playa Dominical
Playa Dominical

We spent three nights in Dominical and spent some time exploring the southern peninsula.

choppy, full breaking waves....not ideal for any recreational activity
choppy, full breaking waves….not ideal for any recreational activity

Danny had hoped to surf some great waves, but the ocean didn’t cooperate. Predictably Nature.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

He made the best of what he was given.

Supportive wife looking on - praying the waves don't make me an early widow.
Supportive wife looking on – praying the waves don’t make me an early widow.

I stood on the beach and took photos with one hand

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

while my other hand was free to keep our son from being swept into the sea.

Southern view
Southern view

While I was busy taking photos, a young, skinny, blonde, Canadian – with feathers stuck in her hair – wandered over to me selling chocolate from her portable ice cooler. She made the chocolate – it was one of a kind – I wasn’t keen on carrying melted chocolate back to my hotel room, so I told her to find me later. We chatted about life.

Northern view
Northern view

She continued on her business route and blew kisses to the baby as she walked away shouting, “bye mi amour.”

Danny came in for a few minutes to talk about his rides and failures.
Danny came in for a few minutes to talk about his rides and failures.

Danny came in so see what baby and I were up to and I made him stay for a few photos. Then he told me he was going to ride some whitewash a few times before heading back to our hotel.

He is out there, but hidden by the water
He is out there, but hidden by the water

Danny paddled back out

P1000328After he came in for the day, we drove back to the board shop – while Danny had stepped away for a minute – I spotted our blonde Canadian Chocolatier and waved her over to me.

Dominical - where time stands still - and you can see an under commercialized Jungle.
Dominical – where time stands still – and you can see an under commercialized Jungle.

I paid $4 for a medium sized – vanilla dark – chocolate bar that was made in her kitchen (well, the kitchen she house sits for) and it was the BEST chocolate bar I have ever eaten/shared.

See all the stickers on the sign?
See all the stickers on the sign?

I recommend taking a chance on street entrepreneurs.

Rio Baru - I wish I would have taken a photo when the tide was out - the water was a crystal blue.
Rio Baru – I wish I would have taken a photo when the tide was out – the water was a crystal blue.

After three days in Dominical, we headed back towards San Jose – the scenic route – taking back roads.

road between Dominical and Quepos - endless palm trees.
road between Dominical and Quepos – endless palm trees.

We drove through a monstrous thunder storm that blew in north of Jaco.  As we drove higher up the mountain, the air was cooler and crisper than the coast.  Danny and I liked the Atenas area.

Wiley stayed busy reading his book while we enjoyed the scenery.

Peace Out
Peace Out 

Much love to Costa Rica, we should get together again sometime.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Rocky Beach, Dirt Roads, Welcome to Dominical

Leave a Reply

