They Just Might Be Giants or Rednecks or Both

Down in Texas, not far from the Gulf, lives my husband’s uncle and his family.  They live on a nice piece of property that has a small lake on it….the boys like to go swimming in there from time to time.

It doesn’t take much convincing to get Danny in the water and it just so happens all his cousins are on competitive swim teams…so, they kinda like swimming too.

DSC_1967

His cousins range from ages 6 to 13 – all boys – four of them.

DSC_1968

I really enjoyed spending more time with Danny’s family – even with my son wearing me out – and it was really nice to have extra help.

DSC_1951We spent the entire summer surrounded by family that we rarely get to see because we live up here in Missouri.

Danny’s (almost) entire family lives in south Texas…and for those who don’t live in south Texas…they still live in Texas.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have family in the same region of Texas, so we had plenty of family to see.

Our son met a second cousin - just his size! The boys are six weeks apart?
Our son met a second cousin – just his size! The boys are six weeks apart?

Anytime I am around Danny’s family, I am reminded that I am vertically challenged….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The 13 year old is just over 6 feet tall, the 11 year old is just about 6 feet tall, the 8 year old is almost my height and the 6 year doesn’t have far to go to eclipse my height.

Danny is in the middle and is 6'4...that makes his uncles how tall?
Danny is in the middle and is 6’4…that makes his uncles how tall?

They get their height and looks from Papa and Gregre, aka “Barbie and Ken”

Ah look, it's Papa telling us Redneck jokes...those always make me laugh!
Ah look, it’s Papa telling us Redneck jokes with food in his teeth…HE never fails to make me laugh! WELL, he looked like Ken in the SIXTIES and that’s what counts.

My son will surely miss the extra attention and I know I’ll miss hearing all of Papa’s “You might be a Redneck” jokes.

P1000409I didn’t grow up listening to Redneck jokes…and apparently my husband grew up with Rednecks.

Papa after a long morning of fishing.
Papa after a long morning of fishing.

I was immersed with their funny humor and yummy grub.

DSC_1834I’m glad that my son will grow up learning good skills from his daddy, who learned them from his dad and grandfather.

DSC_1841Not only will my son learn good skills, but Papa was an All American at Texas A&M – you can find him in their Hall of Fame…so naturally, my son will be an All American too.

Gregre giving some Neck Sugar
Gregre giving some Neck Sugar

Gregre is a great writer! So, of course my son will not only have outdoor skills, and be an All American, but he will most certainly learn how to use the all mighty PEN…Bulworth Lytton did say the “pen was mightier than the sword….” So, my son will probably write the next Great American Novel.

DSC_2001I personally think it good to have technical and intellectual skills.

My In-Laws
My In-Laws

My In-laws set me up with a nice collection of material to sew with to take back to Missouri…so I have some sewing goals for this coming fall and winter.

The Sun was in our eyes.....but look at the boy's face!
The Sun was in our eyes…..but look at the boy’s face!

I can hardly find the time to blog about all the things that we did this summer and all the things I do each week. Time keeps racing by and before you know it – poof

Gregre's Oasis
Gregre’s Oasis

Thank you for opening your home this summer and feeding us delicious and FRESH food. We love our visits with you. See you at Christmas.

One thought on “They Just Might Be Giants or Rednecks or Both

Leave a Reply

