A Reunion With Good Food And Good Company

I graduated from the University of Tulsa (a few years ago…..) with a degree in Athletic Training.

I stayed in touch with many of my former professors. I had favorites. One of these professors was Dr. C.  During undergrad, I was the only student to be invited to his wedding…as the babysitter for his nephews, but I was the only student nonetheless.

Graduation Day!
Graduation Day!

One of my favorite memories was when I saw him out at soccer practice one morning and I noticed he was sporting a new mustache.

Me: I don’t like your mustache

Dr C: well, I don’t like yours

Me – frowning/laughing hysterically

Look at this cute girl in the red and white dress!
Look at this cute girl in the red and white dress!

Dr C liked to give the worst tests ever – ‘not only are the first 10 questions of this exam true or false, but if the answer is false, you must correct the statement, followed by a few multiple choice and several essay/short answer questions.’

He also liked to encourage our academic pursuits

Dr C to class during Orthopedic Assessment:

“I’ve forgotten more than you’ll ever learn.”

I realized right before the photos that I still had the bun on top of my head - that how I wear it when I cook....
I realized right before the photos that I still had the bun on top of my head – that how I wear it when I cook….

I knew he wasn’t all crusty on the inside when after he overheard my best friend (during lower extremity palpation) say,

Best Friend: “Dang Katie, why are your hands so cold?!”

without looking up from his reading we hear Dr C say:

“cold hands, warm heart.”

So when I heard that he and his family moved within an hours drive, I invited them over for dinner! The last time I met his wife was when they got married – she is a DOLL, seriously cool lady, he really lucked out with her.

And I finally figured out who Dr C’s daughter reminds me of

Cute, right? Halloween idea!! and Dr C can be Gru.
Cute, right? Halloween idea!! and Dr C can be Gru.

Margo from Despicable Me!

Seven years old and she could probably ace the SAT/ACT. What a cutie.

Dr C’s five year old son?

Let’s just say Chuck Norris looks under HIS bed at night for that kid.

DSC_2149
It looks like Dr C’s wife A and their cute little girl are as enthusiastic about pictures as Danny is…see the kid in the back? that’s what I’m talk’n bout.

When Dr C and his family piled into their car after dinner and drove away it kinda felt like family was leaving and it would be too long before we got together again.

Thanks for braving the long drive out to the Wanch, see you guys soon.

P.s. just in case you’re wondering who my other favorite professers

are:

Dr P – Program Director

DocP

and Dr G, pictured with me and two classmates

DRGand Dave P, who I don’t have a photo of.

These professors taught me everything I know and they somehow managed to maintain their sanity. I’m sure they’re glad I’ve moved on.

One thought on “A Reunion With Good Food And Good Company

Leave a Reply

