Where Can I Turn For Peace Today?

I have a nasty cold today, which also happens to be September 11, a day to remember.

I have a list of go-to things to do when I need to find peace (especially when I am laying in bed).

First, browse old photographs.

Old time photo of my Maternal Grandmother
Old time photo of my Maternal Grandmother

I don’t want to spend all day reading the news – depressing – and I could spend half the day reading interesting – non depressing – things, but I love to look through photographs.

looking through photos reminds me of other things that bring me peace.

Maternal Grandparents enjoying a day at the park.
Maternal Grandparents enjoying a day at the park.

Spending the afternoon outside – that’s assuming you don’t live in the south right now and your melting from the heat/humidity – the early mornings and evenings in Missouri is perfect for enjoying nature.

Alone or with loved ones.

My paternal Grandparents having a laugh together at home.
My paternal Grandparents having a laugh together at home.

Sitting around with friends and family laughing about the good times, the best times or just swapping movie lines. Being together is sweet.

Family reunion in Durango, CO. We are due for another one of these soon.
Family reunion in Durango, CO. We are due for another one of these soon.

Taking trips, taking trips with family. My sister and her family have flown out from Washington state this week to visit – due to arrive any minute. I love having these times together, now that we are grown, it is the time for our children to become better friends. Cousins should be friends.

I lost a cousin six months ago and he and I were friends, but not nearly good enough. I am reminded that I should continue to be friends with the family I have left. Time runs out before you know it.

CHEESE - the cousins from California, whom I never see enough.
CHEESE – the cousins from California, whom I never see enough.

My life mantra is “Peace On Earth, Good Will Toward Men”

September 11th is a wound that reopens for many and today I want to remember the good things in life. I want to remember that white, black, brown, really white (that’s me), freckled, tattooed, short, tall, people are good. Evil will always exist, but Righteous will prevail.

So today, if it makes you happy to get dressed up?

I had a 1920's birthday party to celebrate my last year of being in my 20's...taken three days after becoming engaged.
I had a 1920’s birthday party to celebrate my last year of being in my 20’s…taken three days after becoming engaged.

get dressed up.

Go to a movie, play golf, read a good book, look at old photographs.

AND FOR GOODNESS SAKE, Make TEA (herb for me) NOT War.

Making a cup for Maggie
Making a cup for Maggie

Alright, more like Make Peace, Not War.

I still believe that there is good in the world.

I pray for peace, I live for peace and I pray to God that someday I will live to see it.

2 thoughts on “Where Can I Turn For Peace Today?

  1. I love to think about how there is always going to be Evil in the world, but that GOOD will ALWAYS prevail! Trying to find the good in the world is hard sometimes, but I am blessed with many good things in my life to help me be the good in the world : D

Leave a Reply

