Visitors From Washington And Our Trip To A Chocolate Shop

My oldest sister and her family came to for a short visit last week. They only had a week to see family from north Texas to southern Missouri.

So family came up from Texas to see them while they stayed in Oklahoma and they hopped from Oklahoma City, to Tulsa and finally Rural Missouri and the Wanch.

my son and his cousin Baby T.
my son and his cousin Baby T.

It was really great to see my sister and her family again – since they live in Washington State – we don’t get to see them very often, which is why I flew out to see them in late May this year.

We only had three days with Kelsey and her blondie bunch – which worked out perfectly with me, because I had a nasty cold – so, this was going to be the best visit ever!

Grampa Joe's Chocolate
Grandpa Joe’s Chocolate

As it turns out, my brother-in-law Mike was feeling sick too so it only made since that we went to Grandpa Joe’s for some comfort food.

Grandpa Joe’s is a cute chocolate shop/boutique 7.6 miles north of Hartville, MO.

This wittle gurl is 2 1/2 years old
This wittle gurl is 2 1/2 years old

Now I don’t question why there is a large gourmet chocolate shop in the middle of rural Missouri, because I’m just glad it is here.

Kelsey's oldest child 'S'
Kelsey’s oldest child ‘S’

Back in the 70’s, my mom came home from work and found my father feeding Kelsey (my oldest sister) chocolate pudding…which would follow seven more times as the rest of us siblings were born.

Her first taste of chocolate around 10 months old and here she is as [insert age old enough for seven younger siblings, with the youngest being 14 years old] looking fabulous as ever.
Her first taste of chocolate around 10 months old and here she is as [insert age old enough for seven younger siblings, with the youngest being 14 years old] looking fabulous as ever. Holding her youngest son, eight months.
I have had to put my personal love for sweets on the shelf, because I have to keep my immune system safe….I still miss you PopTarts…and you too Braum’s Ice Cream…

4 1/2 years old
4 1/2 years old

I can put away baked goods and frozen sweets for life…

Mike getting some sweet hugs from his baby girl.
Mike getting some sweet hugs from his baby girl.

But, I will never, no never, put away chocolate.

DSC_2195

and I only eat dark chocolate that has coconut and nuts inside, so it is kinda healthy.

right?

DSC_2201

After some time in the chocolate shop, we let the kids run around outside, where there is a lovely park filled with flowers and butterflies.

Such a nice place to enjoy the afternoon.

DSC_2215

and good way to tire the kiddies out too.

After buying chocolates as a family, the next thing on Kelsey’s agenda was taking a family photo.

DSC_2206
testing, testing, one two three

Which proved to be more difficult than taking children to a candy shop.

Family photo shoot post of Kelsey’s family tomorrow.

One thought on “Visitors From Washington And Our Trip To A Chocolate Shop

Leave a Reply

