The Out-takes Are Usually My Favorite

We tried – heaven knows we tried – and mothers round the world know what a task it is to get a family photo with everyone looking or smiling.

Culprit Number One - for easily getting distracted.
Culprit Number One – for easily getting distracted.

When the kids are whiny and tired is the BEST time to try to capture their smiles.

Look UP here, UP here, Look UP, HEY GUYS!
Look UP here, UP here, Look UP, HEY GUYS!

We also just came from Grandpa Joe’s Chocolate Shop, so we thought some delicious chocolate might be a good bribe for sitting still.

You're an animal, show me your best prowl moves....no, just the little one in the front, the rest of you look normal.
You’re an animal, show me your best prowl moves….no, just the little one in the front, the rest of you look normal.

My sister really wanted photos in this spot – this had to be the spot – and since I’m not expert in lighting or photography, I kinda just said, “okay, let’s see what we can do.”

now, how about for this next one, one of you looks wistfully off in the distance while, yeah, the older one, strike a pose....this is money, perfect.
now, how about for this next one, one of you looks wistfully off in the distance while, yeah, the older one, strike a pose….this is money, perfect.

I was trying not to crack up the entire time.

DSC_0067So, before I could take anymore…I made sure to have everyone get the sillies out.

If they got the sillies out, maybe they could focus better.

DSC_0074Better.

Now, give me more cheese in your smile.

DSC_0076Perfect, I think we’re done here.

I love taking photos of families. There is something really special about capturing a family – a whole unit – that is full of individuals, each with a unique personality.

DSC_0193Ever since I was a child, I have loved looking through our family photos.

playing with manual settings...
playing with manual settings…

Here I am, all grown up, being able to capture my sister’s family photo and contribute to her family album.

Untitled

I hope her kids take the time to look at family photos as they get older and “time travel” to their childhood.

DSC_0254It’s hard to remember what life was like when you were really young, without having a photo to spark your memory.

DSC_0286I’m thankful for the new memories of your most recent visit Kelsey, Mike and babies! Thank you for spending a small fortune to fly out to Missouri.

Hopefully, we will see you again soon.

DSC_0295

4 thoughts on “The Out-takes Are Usually My Favorite

Leave a Reply

