Show Time Has Arrived – Live Theater Is SO Fun

The Boss Lady
The Boss Lady – Director – Prop Artist – Costume Seamstress – Sound/Lighting Tech   Why no, she doesn’t sleep.

My friend Rebecca spends her free time producing family friendly entertainment out here in small town Missouri.

This year, she has already done Disney’s Alice In Wonderland JR, Disney’s High School Musical JR and this month is The Wizard of OZ JR.

The difference between the JR version and the full version is about 30 minutes.

Queen of Cheese - Glinda of the North
Queen of Cheese – Glinda of the North – featured On Point.

Her shows are never mediocre.

Peace....coming to you from the wicked witch of the west.
Peace….coming to you from the wicked witch of the west.

The dedication that Becca gives to the scenery, costumes, music, dancing and direction – without killing the fun for the kids involved – gives something special to the surrounding communities.

It's almost show time...where are your costumes??!?!
It’s almost show time…where are your costumes??!?!

When I first moved out here to rural Missouri, I was almost positive my life would be dull. Turns out the Ozarks are crawling with talent.

(True, the nearest Sushi place is an hour away…but I can live with that…for now.)

pre-show Jitter-bugs anyone?
pre-show Jitter-bugs anyone? I love the details: notice Dorothy’s dress? everyone in the pre-OZ scene wears cream/browns – to give the sepia look of an old fashion movie…so when you first see Munchkinland you hear the audience exclaim ‘awe’ upon seeing the change in colors.

So how did I get hi-jacked into being a part of the show?

I’m the camera gal.

DSC_0349I stand up in the gallery with my tripod and record each show.

I also try to capture before and after shots of the cast with my still camera.

This young lady saw my taking photos of the peoples I love and said, "you can take a picture of me if you want." How can I say 'no' to that?
This young lady saw me taking photos of the peoples I love and said, “you can take a picture of me if you want.” How can I say ‘no’ to that? This, ladies and gentleman, is an Ozian.

I get to feed my side love for video production. I love to make movies, I just don’t usually have the time for them…until a friend needs a favor.

Bella is our 'Toto' and Andrea our former Glinda (two years ago from the full version). Andrea has turned in her wand and now helps run the stage crew.
Bella is our ‘Toto’ and Andrea our former Glinda (two years ago from the full stage version). Andrea has turned in her wand and now helps run the stage crew.

My entire family usually gets involved with each show…except my dad.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This show required a fog machine, which my dad volunteered to pick up in Springfield – ya know, the big city – and got all the instructions on how to run it properly.

So he felt obligated to run it every night.

I joked that he finally joined the PTA – Peterson Theater Association.

I think he kinda loves being part of the show.

I took my munchkin to the first show last weekend, he sat very quietly through the first half and ate his way through an entire bag of popcorn – with a little help from me.

I didn’t have a chance to record that show – as I had to hold my son.

We sat on the front row and got a close up of the Tin Man after he fell walking up the stairs – the entire audience was in stitches. Even with the Jitter-bugs dancing and the audience laughing – not a single cast member stepped out of character.

Well bust my buttons!
Well bust my buttons!

These kids are fantastic – if you happen to be in the Mountain Grove/Cabool/WillowSprings/WestPains/Houston/you get the picture area

COME and see this weekend’s shows – Friday and Saturday at 7pm at the Star Theater in Willow Springs. Tickets are $6 at the door.

DSC_0362My son cried after the show ended.

DSC_0364Hope to see you there!

One thought on “Show Time Has Arrived – Live Theater Is SO Fun

  1. Oh my! I’m so glad we have you to take pics like that! It makes it so much more fun to look back and see pictures that remind us of good times!

Leave a Reply

