Mormons: We Like To ‘Kick It, Old School’

Every year a friend of the family holds a Fall Festival on their farm – open to anyone.

My husband's boss - The Boss Man Jim, holding our son - who's the boss now?
My husband’s boss – The Boss Man Jim, holding our son – who’s the boss now?

People bring, chili, stew, chowders and cornbread. The barn wall is lined on one side with crock-pots, dutch ovens and large silver pots.

I look forward to the yummy food!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We also look forward to the huge tug-o-war challenge.

Usually Dan anchors the winning side. But out of four matches, including trading sides…it was a draw.

Everyone wins!

Ready to watch the kids in sack races
Ready to watch the kids in sack races

There was horseback rides, hayrides, live music and touch football….and of course a bonfire!

Wait a sec...why are the little kids on the same team? This looks lopsided...
Wait a sec…why are the little kids on the same team? This looks lopsided…

And my advice for a good laugh? Watching sack races…

Balance Restored!
Balance Restored!

I always get car sick driving out to the farm, but it’s totally worth it!

The food, friends and crisp fall air makes me feel alright.

DSC_0643Compared to that, what’s a little upset stomach and light headache for a little while?

DSC_0644

It was pretty cold this year! Good thing I crocheted a new headband the night before.

Looks like the sunset is making us look a bit rosier than we are.
Looks like the sunset is making us look a bit rosier than we are.

Our son is 18 months this month

This was the second time we attended the Fall Festival since we moved here.

DSC_0655

Last year, our son was six months!

FLASH BACK:

Rebecca holding Wiley - who is rocking the Stache-fier.
Rebecca holding Wiley – who is rocking the Stache-fier. Yeah, we called him “The Bishop” for a few months…his hair fell out and grew back funny.

Time flies.

DSC_0085and yet…my forehead still wrinkles when I raise my eyebrows.

somethings are forever…like wrinkled forheads

DSC_0073and family – we are forever

DSC_0062
Six months of sleepless nights under my belt here!

I’m a lucky girl.

DSC_0111Another year, another fall festival…maybe I’ll have another baby to hold – or pass off – when next year’s festival rolls around.

What?
What?

Only time will tell.

One thought on “Mormons: We Like To ‘Kick It, Old School’

  1. I love the October Fest! Sometimes I almost think it’s better than Christmas 😛 I always have so much fun with all of my friends and family! I have so much to grateful for!

Leave a Reply

