Embarrassing? Birthday Tribute To Grambo

Today is my Father-in-law’s birthday!!! Happy Birthday.

DSC_0358

What is something interesting that I can tell you about my Father-in-law?

He is Grambo.

Grambo = Rambo + Grandpa

My Father-in-law will now and forever be known on my blog as Grambo.

And you may think, ‘oh, Rambo, he must all tough guy, no heart.” Not so, like most hunters, he loves animals.

Rubbing Max's tummy after dinner.
Rubbing Max’s tummy after dinner.

He loves his chickens and dogs and unless you are a hunter, you probably wouldn’t realize how gentle these men (and women) are with the deer and other game they catch.

Max and Lilly are Grambo's sidekicks...
Max and Lilly are Grambo’s sidekicks…

Hunters are also some of the best conservationist.  They don’t kill just for fun, they live off the meat.

Grambo took my husband hunting from an early age. By high school, Danny seems to be unimpressed with his catch/dinner.
Grambo took my husband hunting from an early age. By high school, Danny seems to me to be unimpressed with his catch/dinner.

He taught my husband how to be the mountain man he is.

Years ago, when Danny and I were dating, we were on the phone about 11pm.  Dan interrupted our conversation with, “hey my dad got a new night scope, he wants me to go out and use it. I’ll call you back in just a minute.”

I said, “it’s 11pm, he’s wants you to go hunting?? Okay”

Dan5

30 minutes later Danny called me back.

Danny:  “Sorry it took so long, we had to skin the hog and throw it in the freezer.”

By 11:30, they had shot a ferrel hog, skinned it and thrown it on ice.

They may not have impressed other people, but it impressed me.

He showed my husband, by his example, to go to church and to serve when asked.
He showed my husband, by his example, to go to church and to serve when asked.

I remember the first night I met Danny’s parents – I remember thinking, “they are the nicest – most down to earth people.”

ps_2011_07_01___11_03_55

And time has proved that I was correct.

You can always count on Grambo to have some jokes to tell – I love his jokes.

Court of Honor 002
Eagle Scout

“Did anyone tell you about the campout last night?”

“it was in tents”

Haha. In Tents

Untitled

I can imagine that getting married young, before you get out of college and having children is a difficult thing to do and requires sacrifice and hard work.

I appreciate my Father in law and Mother in law for working out their differences, making their marriage last and raising good (and attractive) kids.

Happy Birthday Dad –

We love you!!

Gun Range, pretty classy huh?
Gun Range, pretty classy huh?

Just in case you’re wondering, I totally fit in.

One thought on “Embarrassing? Birthday Tribute To Grambo

Leave a Reply

