What’s Happening Any Given Week

Dad is really good at pulling food out of the oven.
Dad is really good at pulling food out of the oven. Pork Roast, rice and veggies to off-set the brownies, chocolate chip cookies (gluten free) and chocolate tea cakes.

It seems to me that we have a steady flow of visitors.

They are really good at following orders. They stand nearby, so when I say, "can you..." they are ready for action.
Dad and the boys are really good at following orders. They stand nearby, so when I say, “can you…” they are ready for action. Although, I say, “can you?” it’s an order, not a question.

It seems to me that life has been this way my entire life.

One of these days, we'll have dinner ready on time. The birthday girl arrived and we still hadn't finished; but we were close.
One of these days, we’ll have dinner ready on time. The birthday girl arrived and we still hadn’t finished; but we were close.

Since I can remember, my parents would invite families, missionaries, and friends over for dinner every Sunday.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It got to a point, where most of us children were adults and we finally told our parents, “can’t we just have dinner as a family this week.”

My sister came to stay for a few weeks - her husband is working a large project for his employer - and as a homeschool mom, she can do school anywhere.
My sister came to stay for a few weeks – her husband is working on a large project for his employer – and as a homeschool mom, she can do school anywhere. We are so glad she came. 

Don’t get me wrong, I love having friends over, but year after year, week after week, entertaining gets exhausting.

Grandad likes the extra help around the Wanch.
Grandad likes the extra help around the Wanch.

We have gotten back in to entertaining mode (having people over every week for dinner, in stead of every few weeks…) and every time there is a birthday, it gives us an excuse to gather again (to eat baked goods – yum).

DSCN0250

In addition to having a steady flow of dinner guests, my parents have been hosting travelers.

The grandkids love to help with farm chores.
The grandkids love to help with farm chores.

We see family come through from time to time.

And when a friend is passing through town and needs a bed to crash on?

one of my younger brothers is relegated to the couch.

sometimes both brothers are relegated to a couch.

I spy a couch on the back porch...yeah, well, it's on its way out. No worries, no one has had to sleep outside on this couch yet.
I spy a couch on the back porch…yeah, well, it’s on its way out. No worries, no one has had to sleep outside on this couch yet.

There is always room at the Inn here. Visitors welcomed.

We could always use more help around here doing chores.
We could always use more help around here doing chores.

I’m looking forward to time with family this week. So grateful for them.

One thought on “What’s Happening Any Given Week

  1. We always enjoy coming to hang out with you guys . . . even when we are there to help out with chores . . .I’m always having fun! Thanks for so many good memories! : D

Leave a Reply

