The Night Before Thanksgiving and My Kid’s Super Awesome Life

Chili for supper, perfect for a chilly evening.
Chili for supper, perfect for a chilly evening.

Several families, from my mother’s side, gathered last week to celebrate Thanksgiving.

DSC_0008It would have been nice to see all the family, but I’m being thankful for the family I did see. I rarely visit with my uncle Kevin, good to see him. Aunt Gail lives in California, and although she comes pretty frequently, it seems we don’t see her often enough either (or the rest of her clan!). Uncle Keith came with his family and every time they come, his daughters look so much older and have grown much taller than me; I held them as babies for goodness sake.

DSC_0011 Family time is always a double edged sword.

Together... not all of us, for a casual meal in the kitchen.
Together… not all of us, for a casual meal in the kitchen.

I savor the time with family.

DSC_0024They are, really, my everything.

looking for something to do..."is this a good activity??" (Brian Regan)
looking for something to do…”is this a good activity??” (Brian Regan)

But gathering at a location away from home means…I have to keep constant attention to where my son is.

Especially at Grandma’s house.

Luckily, I had a lot of help from my cousins and siblings and Danny.
Luckily, I had a lot of help from my cousins and siblings and Danny.

Her home is a shrine to beautiful.

So, many breakables were put up on a shelf and people took turns following my boy around (and my sister’s five kids…yes, six kids under the age of 8 wandering around a looking for something to do).

DSC_0047I’m really grateful for a hotel room that Wiley has free space to run in.  With a house full of people, there is no way little man will get to sleep.

DSC_0048Not only was he free to run about the hotel room, but Wiley’s uncles were three doors down and uncle Keegan came by to play.

After playing with Keegan for a while, and climbing in and out of the hotel room closet saying, “Bye, See ya, Love ya,” over and over again.

Wiley walked the halls with uncle Kaleb.

When that was all done and said,

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Wiley climbed onto the bed and watched an old football game on TV with his dad.

My guys.
My guys.

His life is pretty rough, just ask him…

Now Dan and I didn’t get much sleep, what with Wiley waking up with needs…or whining from teething or what ever makes him cry at night. Repeat two nights, with little napping and you have the other side of my double edged sword.

Time with family with me in a somewhat dazed and tired state.

Hey, time with family is time with family.

I wouldn’t trade my child for anything, so I guess I’ll just keep taking the tired while he is young. These years wont last forever and I’ll miss them when he’s older.

One thought on “The Night Before Thanksgiving and My Kid’s Super Awesome Life

Leave a Reply

