Working On My Inner Beauty, Meanwhile I Enjoy Outer Beauty

“High times, hard times…sometimes the living is sweet and sometimes there’s nothing to eat…” (Lyrics from the Newsies movie)

I remember my grandmother tore a picture out of a home and garden, then painted it. Here it is.
I remember my grandmother tore a picture out of a home and garden magazine, then painted it. Here it is.

I have had hard times in my life, or the difficult times when I was maybe treated less than fair, I don’t want to look back and dwell on the way things should have gone, I want to rejoice in the fact that things are better.

This is not a water color, Gramma painted this with oil paint and then splattered it with Turpentine.
This is not a water color, Gramma painted this with oil paint and then splattered it with Turpentine.

Why do I sound so “sickeningly” optimistic and cheerful? Some people start to get nauseated from all this cheer…

Taos, NM

I’m so optimistic and cheerful because I’m going through trials, I’ve been through trials and I always face opportunities to be: angry or kind

Tahoe

and believe me, I’ve failed the “be kind” many times.

OnceUponATImeI keep trying.

MotherDaughterSometimes I work out a great oratory response that will obliterate my trials or the people who cause them.

ModernWaterLily

But, I stop and listen for the voice that says, “and what good will that do huh? just make you feel awesome for a split second? Because you know that it isn’t the right thing to do, even if you are being treated unfairly.”

Comes from an old story out of India, about a clever little boy who outsmarts three tigers!
Comes from an old story out of India, about a clever little boy who outsmarts three tigers!

I am smart, I am talented, and I possess a razor sharp tongue, capable of bringing people (figuratively) to their knees…I know, I’ve used it before.

JamaicaInTheRain

And it feels empowering and energizing…but who’s power is it? What am I proving?

GardenPath

I want to follow the path of the Savior and I usually fall short; I am human.

DSC_0071

But, rather than focus on hate and anger and “getting even” – I want to “be the change you want to see in the world.” Mahatma Gandhi

Denail Rae, my cousin...about 17 years ago?
Denail Rae, my cousin…about 17 years ago?

Another snow day for me, I’ve already spent way too much time on the internet, but I’ve also had more time to play and cuddle with my little boy.

BarnOwl

Here’s to the kind of change that comes from choosing to do good.

p.s. all the above paintings were done by my maternal Grandmother.

Ta Ta.

One thought on “Working On My Inner Beauty, Meanwhile I Enjoy Outer Beauty

Leave a Reply

