Dear Family In South Texas, This Is What December Should Look Like

(The above photos, two are taken of the courtyard that is located in the center of our LDS chapel…my brother Kaleb standing where the small children usually play during Sunday classes. The middle photo is taken from the front door of the LDS chapel…the 60 or so people that came to worship came in through the back door.)

I love this scene that sits directly in front of the chapel. This barn, as well as the massive brand new house next to it are up for sell if anyone is interested in moving here.
I love this scene that sits directly in front of the chapel. This barn, as well as the massive brand new house next to it, is up for sell if anyone is interested in moving here.

Church wasn’t cancelled last Sunday, but “stay home if it isn’t safe to travel” calls were made to each member/family in the congregation.

Ah, yes, my husband having some fun in the church parking lot...
Ah, yes, my husband having some fun in the church parking lot…

I had enough of being cooped up in our house for a few days, I was going to church come hell or high snow drifts.

I made Danny stop several times so I could take some photos...with my pocket camera that I happened to have in the diaper bag!!
I made Danny stop several times so I could take some photos…with my pocket camera that I happened to have in the diaper bag!!

I had to tell Dan to slow down so many times, he eventually put it in neutral and the car kinda of rolled along…

The beautiful cemetery that sits near the highway.
The beautiful cemetery that sits near the highway.

I happily hummed Christmas songs while we “cruised along” and took photos.

This may sound really weird, but I love cemeteries. They are so peaceful and sacred.
This may sound really weird, but I love cemeteries. They are so peaceful and sacred.

Dan obliged me a bit more and we drove down more icy roads so I could get this:

really, I wanted to drive in and walk around, but I think everyone in the car would have revolted.
really, I wanted to drive in and walk around, but I think everyone in the car would have revolted.

I started to feel hunger pains, so I told him he could put the truck in drive…we did have to get on the highway ya know.

our neighborhood.
our neighborhood.

Dan asked if he could fish tail the truck a bit and told me, “if we get stuck you can tell me ‘I told you so and make fun of me.’ To which I told him, “I would do that any way, deal or no deal.”

Kamron met us at the gate with a backpack full of Oreos (thanks Konnor)
Kamron met us at the gate with a backpack full of Oreos (thanks Konnor, for donating the Oreos)

I wanted to walk back to the house, so I hopped out here. I love talking walks in the snow – I did it many a time in Utah!

Wearing the Kilt (Nana and Aunt Tina purchased for me in Bath, England - Love) and my sheepskin boots.
Wearing the Kilt (Nana and Aunt Tina purchased for me in Bath, England – Love) and my sheepskin boots. I also have a mouth full of Oreos.

In addition to walking back to the house, I ate some Oreos on my way in.

Wow, I can't feel my hands and the ducks are swimming in the pond.
Wow, I can’t feel my hands and the ducks are swimming in the pond.

Wiley loves to be outside too – and if we didn’t force him inside – he’d live out there with the ducks.

P1000597I can’t keep gloves, a scarf or a hat on him. If I take my eyes off of him for a few seconds, he’s be outside in his onesie!

Seriously, nothing says Christmas like snow, SNow, SNOW!!!
Seriously, nothing says Christmas like snow, SNow, SNOW!!!

I grew up in southern California, I remember roller skating in shorts on Christmas day.

See that turkey standing in the barn door? That would be my family's Christmas turkey. Farm fresh.
See that turkey standing in the barn door? That would be my family’s Christmas turkey. Farm fresh.

There is nothing wrong with shorts and sunshine in December…unless you watch too many Christmas movies, which I did and always longed for a Hollywood, snow covered people singing about how happy they are while they are snow shoeing…SNOW covered December.

P1000604Christmas is about Christ, no matter the season.

Danny and wiley running together. GEt inside!!
Danny and wiley running together. GEt inside!!

The Christmas season is always a time to get together with friends

Vonallmen's came for dinner - we love our friends.
Vonallmen’s came for dinner – we love our friends.

What am I saying? Any time is a good time to get together with friends.

MommyWileyI love the snow, I love having friends come over to our cozy home for a delicious meal…

Can anyone else spot the creepy little Papillion eyes glowing?
Can anyone else spot the creepy little Papillion eyes glowing?

and I can’t wait to see family in Texas in a few weeks, even if there is no snow.

Hey Aunt Klara, thanks for forgetting Joe joe's army sweatshirt :) Wiley loves it
Hey Aunt Klara, thanks for leaving behind Joe joe’s army sweatshirt 🙂 Wiley loves it

because as I said, snow doesn’t a Christmas make.

Here’s to enjoying the snow while it lasts!

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Dear Family In South Texas, This Is What December Should Look Like

  1. What a lovely Sunday! : ) I like snow . . . sometimes and other times I can’t wait for it to melt . . . but I have to say it’s one of the prettiest things I’ve ever seen : )

Leave a Reply

