Christmas Eve: Family Competition And Nativity Re-enactment

My only regret from Christmas Eve was, I should have used my good camera for taking photos instead of my pocket shooter… Oh well, grainy pictures are still pictures.

The adults gather after dinner for "minute to win it" games
The adults gather after dinner for “minute to win it” games

Christmas Eve dinner was held at Uncle Randy and Aunt April’s house, about an hour and a half drive from where we were staying in north Houston.

We arrived a bit late, but just in time for dinner.

Nona and her only grandbaby girl.
Nona and her only grandbaby girl.

They served Yahoo chocolate milk with dinner (among other options, but chocolate milk it was for me) and my day was made!

It wasn’t long after dinner when the “minute to win it” games began and the children dispersed on the property to run off the food.

The Nutcrackers...
The Nutcrackers…

Danny won the challenge of catching a cottonball on his lubed nose – he really is a talent amongst talents. It was a tough crowd.

I happen to be pretty good at blowing a cottonball across the table with a straw into a cup…not as good as PawPaw at throwing marshmellows into a bowl on my partner’s head.

P1000745 (800x533)After battling each other over silly games and collecting our small children, we all headed back inside the house for the Nativity re-enactment.

My part was pretty easy, I was supposed to read along and get the other actors where they needed to be.

My husband is a wise man.
My husband is a wise man.

My mother-in-law was the narrator and as she told the story, each character came on and acted out the part being read.

Every few paragraphs a Christmas song that correlated with the story was sung – that was my favorite part.

hahaha, Uncle Jim is a sheep..
hahaha, Uncle Jim is a sheep..sitting in a chair. The Angel tells the Shepherds of the baby in a manger.

After the Navitiy we gathered in a circle for the Jingle Bell game – we all brought our favorite candy bar and we roll dice looking for doubles – upon seeing double we yell “Merry Christmas” and grab a wrapped candy bar.

My sister-in-law and her baby girl
My sister-in-law and her baby girl

I got one chance at yelling “Merry Christmas” – which I hunted down the wrapping paper in the shape of the candy bar I brought…which I found and took…but it was taken from me. I didn’t win any candy bar from the game.

After after party
After after party

My father-in-law had three boxes of candy and gave me one of his – what a guy!

which I traded for a different candy 🙂

P1000766 (800x533)Afther the Jingle Bell game we openned gifts – My son made out like a bandit – we have been richly blessed.

Christmas Eve was a very enjoyable evening with lovely people.

One thought on “Christmas Eve: Family Competition And Nativity Re-enactment

Leave a Reply

