From Dust To Dust and The Things That Last Forever

The Whites - The majority of my mom's side of the family.
The Whites – The majority of my mom’s side of the family during Thanksgiving…unfortunately, I couldn’t make it to the Christmas gathering with this side of the family. Couldn’t work out two places in once.

I once had a patient in the hospital, a woman who was about 75 years old, I can’t remember if she said she had married…but what I do remember is, she never had any children.

The great-grands holding their youngest great grandchild.
The great-grands holding their youngest great grandchild.

Now I know I have mentioned before on this blog how I used to be afraid of having children.

DSC_0346 (800x533)

Afraid for many reasons, but one BIG reason was I didn’t want to ruin my body.

My cousin Mary holding my nephew.
My cousin Mary holding my nephew.

I didn’t want stretch marks, I didn’t want lose skin, I didn’t want sagging breasts.

Here is my Mother-in-law's side of the family. Pawpaw and Gregre in the front surrounded by their posterity.
Here is my Mother-in-law’s side of the family. Pawpaw and Gregre in the front surrounded by their posterity.

I apologize for saying “sagging breasts” but it is the honest truth.

Four generations, Gregre, Nona, Steph and her baby girl.
Four generations, Gregre, Nona, Steph and her baby girl. Photogenic bunch, aren’t they?

so, at twenty-six, when I walked into a patient’s room and told her I was there to ¬†discharge the heart monitor…this 75 year old woman patient who had never had children….

Here is Grambo's family after our Christmas Day game of Yankee Swap (gag gifts).
Here is Grambo’s family after our Christmas Day game of Yankee Swap (gag gifts).

You can imagine my surprise when this woman just opened her shirt, exposing her naked chest.

Four generations on Grambo's side. Grandpa, Grambo, Danny and Wiley.
Four generations on Grambo’s side. Grandpa, Grambo, Danny and Wiley.

I quickly and gracefully removed the sticky electrodes from her chest – but couldn’t help noticing how saggy and stretched her skin was.

and for the first time in my life, I realized, that my body would grow old and stretch whether I had children or not.

My cousin Max, his wife Miranda and their baby girl!
My cousin Max, his wife Miranda and their baby girl!

I didn’t want to be an old woman, with nothing to show for it – if I had the choice.

KoKo with her new grand niece.
KoKo with her new grand niece.

So after that mildly strange encounter with a patient, I was much less concerned about what would happen to my body after I had babies.

My baby boy
My baby boy

I had a baby boy almost two years ago…and you know what?

I didn’t get any stretch marks, I didn’t get any loose skin, but I did gain an incredibly adorable little boy – who my husband and I just love with all our hearts.

Eventually my body will go the way of all the earth, and I don’t mind.

At least I’ll have things to show for it.

I’m expecting another baby August 25th of this year and we are very excited about it.

One thought on “From Dust To Dust and The Things That Last Forever

  1. Congratulations! I bet your’re really excited : D The more I think about having kids it scares me, but I know it will totally be worth it. My mom always tells me that she wouldn’t of had all five of us if was a terrible experience : )

Leave a Reply

