My Vacation Away From The Internet Is Over

We moved into our rental home four weeks ago yesterday.

Today's weather is
Today’s weather is White. I don’t have any love for that satellite dish that sits in our front yard, but I do LOVE snow. 

The first week, the only the internet we had was the data plan on our phones…which quickly dried up, leaving us with no data until February 13th.

we even have a garage...that we don't park our truck in..but it does house our bikes and Danny's wood working projects.
we even have a garage…that we don’t park our truck in..but it does house our bikes and Danny’s wood working projects. Luckily there is another door into the house just next to the garage.

So, three weeks I ordered our internet.

Our house sits on a half acre lot, which isn't bad for a city house!
Our house sits on a half acre lot, which isn’t bad for a city house!

Somehow we got overlooked and our internet services were pushed back to February 1st. Which wasn’t good for Dan’s math class, when all the assignments were online…so, he did his homework in the LDS Institute parking lot until we got our internet hooked up. Thank goodness for the LDS meetinghouse internet!!

a view from behind...this is actually the first time I've walked out this far. It has been too cold since our move to do anything out here.
a view from behind…this is actually the first time I’ve walked out this far. It has been too cold since our move to do anything out here.

Like most things in life, there are some bumps in the road. After several visits from the Internet Service Man to our home…we are now ROLLING in the high speed super highway of information.

Living room. It is always messy and gets vacuumed daily. With two boys and a dog, I'd expect nothing less.
Living room. It is always messy and gets vacuumed daily. With two boys and a dog, I’d expect nothing less. I have had little time to worry about what to put on the walls, That will come in time.

We love Columbia and our cozy cottage here.

Up until last week, our house mostly covered in boxes. This stack is finally gone!
Up until last week, our house mostly covered in boxes. This stack is finally gone!

Dan goes to school less than two miles away and has had plans to ride his bike.

ah, the other side of the living room. This is right after the dog decided to jump onto and then off of the table - knocking everything off and pushing it closer to the window. Yeah, we have stuff to hang on the window, but I have some sewing to do on it.
ah, the other side of the living room. This is right after the dog decided to jump onto and then off of the table – knocking everything off and pushing it closer to the window. Yeah, we have stuff to hang on the window, but I have some sewing to do on it. ALSO, that picture on the wall is not going there permanently, we just wanted to get it off the floor and away from the baby.

The weather has been in the upper teens and low twenties and I’d rather he drive until things warm up here.

Our kitchen. Lovely right? I don't mind, in fact, I couldn't expect more for what we are paying.
Our kitchen. Lovely right? I don’t mind, in fact, I couldn’t expect more for what we are paying. Notice the yellow on one part of the wall? yeah, just one section of the kitchen was this lovely shade of yellow…..cool.

Although we are living right in the center of town – close enough to our neighbors to hear their house party music (TWO GROWN, in their forties, WOMEN no less) in the morning? – I still consider my life rural.

view from the kitchen into the office/craft room. It still looks like this.
view from the kitchen into the office/craft room. It still looks like this.

Here is why – there is no dishwasher – I’m the dishwasher. Just like women on the frontier, I spend half my day washing things by hand.

In that respect, it’s still a country life for me.

Danny took it upon himself to decorate the son's room...he found nails already in the wall and that's where he hung the pictures. Nice.
Danny took it upon himself to decorate the son’s room…he found nails already in the wall and that’s where he hung the pictures. Nice. REAAaal nice.

In other news, I live a few blocks from the city library, which means I’m in literature heaven.

Happy Snow Day folks. My husband’s classes were canceled for the day, so we get to be a whole family ALL day long.

YIP YIP YIPPIE!!

 

 

3 thoughts on “My Vacation Away From The Internet Is Over

  1. I love your house. Where I live, renting sucks. Heck even buying sucks. It’s so hard to find a house with even an inch of character in it, and lighting.. Your house looks like it’s beautifully lit with a TON of natural light! JEALOUS.

Leave a Reply

