Caught In The Act! * Indigo Handed*

DSC_0540
This day, he refused a nap…we tried, but he just wouldn’t fall asleep when I wanted him to earlier in the day. Several hours later, he passed out on the couch.

Some days, when all is quiet, it is because the baby fell asleep.

Yes, he has snot coming from his nose and some food stuck to his face. Typically, we are a very hygienic family, but when he falls asleep, I wouldn't wake him on purpose unless the house was on fire.
Yes, he has snot coming from his nose and some food stuck to his face. Typically, we are a very hygienic family, but when he falls asleep, I wouldn’t wake him on purpose unless the house was on fire.

On most days, he never leaves my sight. Usually, he likes to play where I am.

If I’m in the kitchen doing dishes, he’s re-organizing the food pantry for the hundredth time. Every few minutes he brings a McCormick chili starter packet or bag of dried beans saying, “peas? peas mama?”

Danny has actually taken to opening the dried bag of beans and feeding them to Wiley – he eats them and comes back for more – what ever floats your boat kid.

The baby put this orange hat on before the incident...he loves wearing hats.
The baby put this orange hat on before the incident…he loves wearing hats. This is what early pregnancy looks like, FYI, blah de blah.

This morning, after breakfast, I was in the kitchen cleaning up and Danny called from our room, “Katie, you might want to come and see Wiley.”

Usually when Danny calls me over to see what Wiley is doing, it is something cute and he wants me to revel in all our son’s cuteness.

Guilty, caught in the act, of tagging Mom and Dad's bedroom wall with a Crayola.
Guilty, caught in the act, of tagging Mom and Dad’s bedroom wall with a Crayola.

I walked into my bedroom to see Dan holding a crayon, “Wiley had this.” (I had no idea where the crayon came from…) Dan pointing to the wall, “and he did this.”

I did the Mom Act, “Wiley, we don’t draw on walls, we draw on paper,” in my stern voice, I pulled up a box and gave the crayon back to Wiley.

DSC_0547

Dan and I both watched him for several minutes to encourage proper use of the crayon.  I wasn’t going to let him alone with a coloring utensil knowingly.

After several minutes of coloring, he got bored and put the crayon down…that’s when I swiped it and put it in a very safe place.

Look at that face.
Look at that face.

I’m sure that wont be the last of his tagging.

3 thoughts on “Caught In The Act! * Indigo Handed*

Leave a Reply

