There Were Never Such Devoted Sisters.

I have four sisters, one of them had a birthday yesterday. I gave her a call, but I feel bad I didn’t send a card or small gift.

Here is Klara and her five children Nov. 2013 - her oldest was eight and her baby was almost five months.
Here is Klara and her five children Nov. 2013 – her oldest was eight and her baby was almost five months. What a pretty mama.

I can tell stories.

My sister Klara is four years younger than me, when I was in junior high and high school that was a big age gap.

speaking of age gaps...this brother is 17 years younger than me. Pictured holding my son on the right and Klara's boy on the left.
speaking of age gaps…this brother is 17 years younger than me. Pictured holding my son on the right and Klara’s boy on the left.

She was more or less my “pesky” little sister, whom I sometimes played with.

I do remember one summer day – between eighth and ninth grade – my friend Stephanie came over to make some “movies” with us.

These two little boys are one year apart. My son is a year younger.
These two little boys are one year apart. My son is a year younger.

Our ‘movie’ turned into us spoofing the local news and politicians. My little sister Klara was dressed up like the local news reporter named Cherokee Ballard, who was an actual Native American, but Klara was made to wear lots of dark base (taken from my mother’s vanity) and dressed in my mother’s clothes.

Later, I think Klara ended up being Pat Buchanan’s wife during our “interview of the candidates wives” segment.

This kid - so adorable
This kid – so adorable

I don’t have too many days spent with her during my youth.

It was when I moved out to go to college at the age of 18 – Klara and Kaylan (the little girls of our family) started to write me letters and make me home made cards.

Why the face?
Why the face?

In one of the letters, my little sister Klara, whom I was always trying to help to be “cooler,” told me I was cool and that she wanted to be like me.

I still have that home made card, I started looking at my little sisters a little bit differently that day.

could he be concerned about the future? Nah.
could he be concerned about the future? Nah.

The next time I had a visit home for Spring Break I made time to start hanging out with my sisters.

We have been best friends (all of us) since.

L to R: Kelsey (just post birth), Klara (also just post birth), Kaylan and I
L to R: Kelsey (just post birth), Klara (also just post birth), Kaylan and I

One thought on “There Were Never Such Devoted Sisters.

Leave a Reply

