Was This The Last Time We Were All Together?

The last time my Dad’s side of the family got together – before the funerals began – was Christmas 2005.

I had flown in from Utah and family drove up from Texas to gather at Nana’s house in Oklahoma.

L to R: Auntie C, Mom, Nana and Auntie Tina. Auntie Kathy not pictured.
L to R: Auntie C, Mom, Nana and Auntie Tina. Auntie Kathy not pictured.

Nana’s is the gathering place.

Aunt Tina was there, she didn’t see the next Christmas – cancer took her – because that’s THIS life and it sucks sometimes.

Two years later, Nana passed away from cancer, on my Dad’s birthday, December 30th.

Christmas Eve gift opening, always a mad house.
Christmas Eve gift opening, always a mad house.

I never really knew Rex’s birthday, we had so many different gatherings back in the day, I couldn’t keep straight who’s birthday it was we were gathering for.

March 11th became a birthday for Rex, of sorts, it was the day he left this world and entered the next.

Scan 140700002

Last year, I posted several blog posts about my cousin’s death that occurred on March 11th.

With cancer, you have some warning, last few days or months to say your goodbyes, but with Rex, it came as a shock.

Scan 140700003

With all the gatherings we had in junior high, high school, as cousins, for some reason, the only time we gather now is for a funeral.

We live in different states, we pursue different dreams, but I hope my cousins know how much I love them, regardless of how infrequently we visit.

Meanwhile, another party gathers in heaven....
Meanwhile, another party gathers in heaven….

Let us gather for a wedding next time.

Any takers?

One thought on “Was This The Last Time We Were All Together?

  1. I know what you mean . . . I really don’t see a whole lot of my extended family . . . my cousins live in Ava and I rarely see them . . . WHY? I don’t know? I should change that : P

Leave a Reply

