I Have Several Favorites, Here Are Two Of Them

The night before my husband and I moved away from Mountain Grove, our dinner was interrupted by a knock at the door.

Our unexpected visitors were, none other than, some of our all-time favorite LDS missionaries.

Wiley loved the Elders, always wanting to shake their hands.
Wiley loved the Elders, always wanting to shake their hands.

Over the course of several months, we had given rides, shared dinners and stories with these two young men.

As disappointing as getting “the call the serve” in the Tulsa Oklahoma Mission (which covers NE Oklahoma and Southwest Missouri) was over getting the call to Fiji, or Australia or someplace where you get to learn a new language.
Disappointed in serving in the Tulsa Oklahoma Mission? Not these guys...Disappointed in serving in the Tulsa Oklahoma Mission? Not these guys…

But regardless of where they served, hopefully they learned how to hear the voice of the Spirit.

That doesn’t mean that we didn’t have laughs – because we did – but these two Elders regularly took my sixteen year old brother with them when they taught lessons, they were always ready to serve – helping on my Dad’s property – castrating calves and helping with wood cuts.

Elder HolyOak on the left and Elder Blackburn (at the time).
Elder HolyOak on the left and Elder Blackburn (at the time).

These two young men left their families, their educational and vocation pursuits, dating…

DSC_0516

to don a suit and tie, name tag, and go where they were called to go to serve and teach the people about Christ.

Christ lives, He loves us and He wants us all to be happy – He has a Plan of Happiness.

I can say I’ve had about ten all time favorite missionaries, these two are definitely on that list.

How could they not??
A little humor goes a long way in our house. A lot of humor goes a little longer.  Maybe I should have gotten a photo of these two while they gave the spiritual thought, but I was listening to the message…definitely less laughs, but more affective in teaching is having the Spirit with you…and not a good time to take photos.

Their mothers should be proud of who they are and what they have done.

I hope my son can be that kind of missionary too.

Hey ladies, this guy is home now...but he is not really single. He is waiting on his girl, she comes home from her mission later this year.
Hey ladies, this guy is home now…but he is not really single. He is waiting on his girl, she comes home from her mission later this year.

2 thoughts on “I Have Several Favorites, Here Are Two Of Them

  1. I have to say they were two of my favorite elders too : ) I love having sisters now, but I really miss our elders, especially those two : D

Leave a Reply

