The Soundtrack Of Stupidity…

I’m going to go ahead and chalk up tonight’s experience to my brain being on maternity leave.

When I was 12 years old I watched the movie ‘Sandlot’ about a million times with my best friend from the house next door.  Anyway, one of my favorite quotes from that film is, “if you were thinking, you wouldn’t have thought that.”

Unfortunately I was listening to Bruno Mars, “Marry You.”

“It’s a beautiful night, looking for something dumb to do…”

Oh, I decided to go for a bike ride. Why? Because my husband is at Scout camp with our truck and I wanted to go to Michael’s craft store…leaving Wiley with my brother Kaleb.

The bike ride to Michael’s was about a mile and not too hot. I got to the store and locked my bike up to a light pole.

I wandered around Michaels for about an hour.

At 8:29pm I leave and realize the key to my bike lock is at my house…a mile away.

Thank goodness I only live a mile from the store and that I have music on my phone. Some of the songs ironically fit my situation.

Staring down that white line, with so far to go...those headlights keep coming...
Staring down that white line, with so far to go…those headlights keep coming…

The first song I hear is Flogging Molly’s “If I Ever Leave This World Alive.” and I realize I’m not wearing walking shoes, but I keep walking.

I’m walking down a stretch of road and I heard the words from Faith Hill’s “If My Heart Had Wings” and the words, “I stare down this white line, with so far to go, headlights keep coming, loneliness humming along….”

I made it to the halfway point home – Gerbes grocery – and the song “Mr Pitiful” by Matt Costa started playing. I wasn’t necessarily feeling pitiful, but I was taking a bath in my own sweat. Eeew.

Did I mention I am 7 and 1/2 months pregnant? That extra 40 lbs was getting to me, but the light contractions were not enough to hurt.

I made it home just after 9pm. I guzzled a glass of Gatorade then grabbed the key for my bike lock. I also changed my shoes and stripped myself down to the bare minimum of clothing for my journey there and back again…

It just takes some time, little girl, you're in the middle of the ride...
It just takes some time, little girl, you’re in the middle of the ride…

Right about the point when I reached Gerbes – again and not the last time for the night – the song “The Middle” by Jimmy Eat World came on. The sky hadn’t darkened yet, but it was getting there and an old guy with a rolling suitcase was behind me…so hearing, “everything, everything will be just fine” was reassuring. I crossed the street to get away from the rolling suitcase man. You never know.

I was coming up on my bike and “Always Love” by Nada Surf reminded me to not make a mountain out my life circumstances. I had, by this point, embraced this epic journey in my evening and was relieved that it was almost over. Besides, the exercise was good for me.

Don't Hate!
Don’t Hate! I love my comfort bike…you would too if your belly stuck out as far as mine does.

David Archuleta’s version of “Angels” rounded out my trip as I rode up to my house along with the last bit of the day’s sunlight. I’d like to think I have Angels with me, especially today. Things could have been worse.

So, that’s that. Fun, right?

Did I mention the keys were in my backpack before I left earlier and I thought, “I’ll take out anything I don’t need to lessen the weight on my back…”

If I was thinking, I wouldn’t have thought that.

See? no harm, no foul.
See? no harm, no foul.

5 thoughts on “The Soundtrack Of Stupidity…

  1. Love this post! I’m in it 😉 so many good memories. ‘Always love’ is Curtis’ favorite song. You are awesome! Love you Katie!!!

Leave a Reply

