A Day Trip…From Three Four Weeks Ago (of course).

Tiny House - just his size!
Tiny House – just his size!

Several weeks ago…I wanted to take a day trip to some church history sites.  We live about 2-2 1/2 hours from some pretty significant sites – for our church – and for our nation.

DSCN0422
Our first stop was Independence, Missouri at the LDS visitor’s center to learn about the early saints.

There are many groups of people who were mistreated by the US government – slaves, Native Americans, the Japanese Americans during WWII, to name a few, and the Mormons or early members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.

Replica of Liberty Jail - where Joseph Smith and other men were held 5 months (during the winter months).
Replica of Liberty Jail – where Joseph Smith and other men were held 5 months (during the winter).

Some people didn’t like what those, “mormons” were preaching and they persecuted the members – killed, ran out, antago.

DSCN0426

Who were the ‘they’? Oh, “Christians” who didn’t agree with our doctrine.

DSCN0513

After Independence and Liberty Jail, we drove north a little further and stopped at Adam-ondi-ahman – The most beautiful and peaceful place – the Garden of Eden.

Turns out I have some family here...Hello Whipples!
Turns out I have some family here…Hello Whipples!

My brother Kaleb, Danny, Wiley and I spent the longest bit of our day wandering the trails of this place.

DSCN0447

If Danny and I could buy property right now…it would look a lot like this place.

We took a path off the main trail and I thought it would be a great idea to take a family photo.

Waiting on Kaleb to tell us he is ready to take the shot.
Waiting on Kaleb to tell us he is ready to take the shot.

We were standing on the path maybe two minutes when Dan says, “Kaleb, hurry and take the photo, there are ticks crawling up our legs.”

Ticks?
Ticks?

At this point I look down and I have three ticks crawling up my legs.

TAKE IT KALEB - TAKE THE PICTURE!!!
TAKE IT KALEB – TAKE THE PICTURE!!!

I internally seized with terror from the feeling of little nasty ticks climbing my legs – Danny seemed to find it humorous.

Didn't get a real natural look on our faces here.
Didn’t get a real natural look on our faces here. I’m freaking out.

And the moral of this story is “just stick to the marked trail.”

If you zoom in, you can see those buggers.
If you zoom in, you can see those buggers.

I was seven months pregnant, but I ran outta dere.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This may seem weird, but I hate ticks more than I hate snakes and spiders.

I was scratching myself the rest of the night. Cheese!
I was scratching myself the rest of the night. Cheese!

I’ve been bit by a poisonous snake, so I know what I’m talk’n ’bout people. Ticks are gross and some carry a bacteria that will give you lime disease!!

Wiley was having so much fun exploring, he didn't want to make time for photos.
Wiley was having so much fun exploring, he didn’t want to make time for photos.

Ticks, snakes, spiders, and whatever else may live here… I’d still want a slice of heaven – just – like this place.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Knowing my husband, and the fact that he talks about buying land at least once a week, I know someday I will.

Tally-ho!
Tally-ho!

Until that time in our life comes, we will make it through school together, have more children and do some more exploring together!

A bird? A plane? My brother Kaleb.
A bird? A plane? My brother Kaleb.

I like to live my life from one adventure to the next.

I’m so grateful for my life –

DSCN0519and grateful for my forever family!

Kansas City Temple
Kansas City Temple – Danny took this one.

One thought on “A Day Trip…From Three Four Weeks Ago (of course).

  1. It’s so amazing to me all the beautiful things that are on the earth even when it feels like the world is falling apart. Just the beautiful scenery and pictures of the temple reminds me that we just have to look for those sweet things that are still out there.

Leave a Reply

