Our Fourth Of July – Was Pretty Spectacular

I’m making progress…seeing as how this post is only two weeks over due, instead of a month.

Twin Lakes park
Twin Lakes park

I also decided to not to do the dishes – which will probably sit in the sink till after breakfast – to make time to update the blog.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This year’s Fourth was a very productive day.

Running Man...when he came in to the finish - Wiley was clapping and when Danny didn't see WIley, Wiley started to cry.
Running Man…when Dan came in to the finish – Wiley was clapping and when Danny didn’t see WIley, Wiley started to cry.

It started at 6am – by 7am we needed to be at Twin Lakes park for the Parley P. Pratt Liberty run. I didn’t run, I walked Wiley in the stroller (a mile) and Danny ran the 4 miles.

After our morning at the park, I dropped Danny and Wiley at home and went to the church to help set up for a July 5th wedding – I was put in charge of the table center pieces – I impressed myself.

center pieces anyone?
center pieces anyone?

I’ve never considered myself a crafty person until this year, when I’ve really started to put those skills into use.

It took me two hours to make all (12?) center pieces and I headed home to help make food for some friends that we had invited over for lunch.

After our naps... I still wanted to nap.
After our naps… I still wanted to nap.

After eating, the food coma set in and I couldn’t stay awake – I excused myself to my room for a nap – two hours later I had to wake up and finish a cake for the evening gathering we were invited to.

DSC_0026

By this time, I had changed shirts three times (big belly, poor spacial awareness and sheer clumsiness) and I didn’t feel like wearing anything remotely uncomfortable – so I put on the most comfortable pair of sweat pants…

DSC_0006

By the time we reached the evening BBQ, I was so tired, I just wanted to sit. I could not have cared less what happened as long as I didn’t have to do anything.

This kid was having the time of his life. But what little guy wouldn't in a Barbie Jeep, with Barbie in the passenger seat?
This kid was having the time of his life. But what little guy wouldn’t in a Barbie Jeep, with Barbie in the passenger seat?

Eventually I put my big girl panties on and walked around with Wiley to make sure he didn’t get into trouble and to take photos.

Amberly took one for me and ran Wiley and her daughter up and down this hill on the coaster ride!
Amberly took (one for me and ran) Wiley and her daughter up and down this hill on the coaster ride! That was very cool of her!

I will say, being as tired as I was, this was probably the most enjoyable Fourth of July I have had in many years.

DSC_0046

I know Wiley and Danny had a good time too.

Amberly told me he was laughing the entire way down!
Amberly told me he was laughing the entire way down!

In this life we often have to take the bitter with the sweet.

See the Frumpy Lady in the middle of the photo? That's me, In all my Frumpalicious Glory.
See the Frumpy Lady in the middle of the photo? That’s me, In all my Frumpalicious Glory surrounded by small children with Sparklers (super safe, right?)

So, if I had to do the day all over again – being tired and uncomfortable – I’d do it all over again…to taste of those sweet things.

I took this sunset photo and then I edited it to look this snazzy.
I took this sunset photo and then I edited it to look this snazzy.

Danny then set up the tripod and camera for the fireworks show…and was it a show…like over an hour, no joke.

I know that some people, especially those with PTSD, don’t care for the loud BOOM of fireworks. I respect that and since I never suffered life in a war zone I can’t really understand.

DSC_0117

But to me, when I hear fireworks popping and crackling, I imagine those original soldiers who freed the people of America from a tyrannical monarchy.  War isn’t glorious – war is hell – but I feel such a sense of gratitude with each BOOM that created this nation.

DSC_0116

Boom – I’m grateful for those men and women who stood up against an overwhelming force.

Boom – I’m grateful to those who signed away their Lives, their Fortunes and their sacred Honor and in many cases their families.

Boom – I’m grateful for the Constitution and for the men who gathered at the constitutional convention to write and ratify that document.

Boom – I’m grateful for the safety in which I live today, because of all those who came before me.

Seriously – God Bless America.

Danny really loves taking photos of the moon...who can blame him? Good Night Moon.
Danny really loves taking photos of the moon…who can blame him? Good Night Moon.

One thought on “Our Fourth Of July – Was Pretty Spectacular

  1. Happy Fourth of July!
    Your centerpieces are beautiful : P
    Looks like you all were really busy and had tons of fun! Love that sunset picture, it’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

