Summer Baby Shower With A Beach Theme – is there any other theme?

Last Saturday some friends gathered to celebrate the coming of our new baby boy.

DSC_9845_3

I know there are lots of themes out there for showers, but I long for the beach, I would always rather be there than almost anywhere in the world.

DSC_9846_4

The sound of the waves can soothe my soul almost as well as getting a good night’s rest, eating a great meal or doing a session in the Temple.

Ukulele is Dan's - the table is about half full here - Stefanie made sure there was no empty space here. Yum
Ukulele is Dan’s – the table is about half full here – Stefanie made sure there was no empty space here. Yum

My husband happens to own several beachy props, so the decor was a no-brainer (right Stef…who stayed up late making everything look fabulous?).

Details - I love the center piece on the crafting table, where we painted onesies.
Details – I love the center piece on the crafting table, where we painted onesies. That is brown sugar in place of sand, if you were wondering.

I moved to Columbia in late January and come July I had new friendships – Stefanie and I met because we were assigned as Visiting Teaching companions through church.  Lucky me.

I requested smoothies...such a great thing smoothies.
I requested smoothies…such a great thing smoothies.

A few months ago Stefanie asked if she could throw a shower for me – I told her I wasn’t sure that was a good idea, since I didn’t know anyone – she insisted.

Those cupcakes were delicious - chocolate cupcakes with a butter cream/coconut frosting.
Those cupcakes were delicious – chocolate cupcakes with a butter cream/coconut frosting. I crave them – you hear me – I need more of those in my life.

I’m so glad that she did, I had a great time.

Painting a onesie
Painting a onesie

Those who came got to get to know each other better too – some of the activities were filling out some things about themselves and then me guessing who it was – it was fun and funny discovering who belonged to what.

I know Jennifer's weird quirk...it has to do with eating.
I know Jennifer’s weird quirk…it has to do with eating.

Like, who listens to country music? Who listens to too much Hipster stuff? Who belongs to what weird quirk? Well, You had to be there to get the answers…

Jewly
Jewly

My other friend Jewly (along with her family) was the first person to reach out and invite me to do things.

Super artist here - love her work.
Super artist Crystalyn here – love her work.

Being in my first trimester and having to move was stressful enough – it was nice to have people go out of their way to befriend me when I wasn’t feeling up to it.

Rachel here won a nice beach blanket by getting most of the All About Katie questions correct.
Rachel here won a nice beach blanket by getting most of the All About Katie questions correct.

Since I began feeling better, it has been easier to make time for social activities.

DSC_9829_4

again, I’m glad I did.

Books - I love books, my two year old loves books and our new baby will love them too.
Books – I love books, my two year old loves books and our new baby will love them too.

Because, had I remained a hermit I’m pretty sure my baby shower would have been a party of one.

WIth no friends - I wouldn't have gotten this alligator muscle shirt.
WIth no friends – I wouldn’t have gotten this muscle shirt with stars on it (which comes with cute little crocodile shorts and I love crocodiles).

I prefer to avoid Lonely – party of one.

I did the sheep one to the right. Crystalyn did the surfboard one on the left.
I did the sheep one to the right. Crystalyn did the surfboard one on the left.

I feel really blessed – to those who came and those who didn’t but sent gifts – you ladies are too generous.

DSC_9875_4
Everyone got to conjure the artist inside.

I’m all stocked up on diapers and wipes too and that makes me happier still.

Shower gifts for those who came - a reusable bag "beach bag" and herbal mint chapstick. Dude, that is awesome.
Shower gifts for those who came – a reusable bag “beach bag” and herbal mint chapstick. Dudettes, “Thanks for Hangin with us.”

Thank you so much for thinking of me and making me feel special.

Hostess Stefanie
Hostess Stefanie

and special thanks to Stefanie’s husband who took over care of the kids all Saturday – we know Dad doesn’t fit into Mom Jeans, but we are so glad you put them on!

L to R:  (Danny's board), Jewly, Me and Stef
L to R: (Danny’s board), Jewly, Me and Stef

I like parties, who’s up next???

Ah, Tina, Tina is up next.

Leave a Reply

