Thank Goodness For College Chemistry?

Originally this post was not about poop. But, Wiley has this thing about playing in it and this is what I have learned…about poop.

This kid loves technology.
This kid loves technology.

While reading my library book, I noticed the house was eerily quiet.

He gets that from his dad.
He gets that from his dad.

“Wiley??!!!” I knew where he was, he was playing in the room next to me, all the doors were open and I could hear him, until I couldn’t.

He loves wearing hats.
He loves wearing hats.

I got up and found that his diaper was dirty and maybe, just maybe he was trying to clean himself up… yeah, right.

He loves wearing hats like this.
He loves wearing hats like this.

Anyway, I shrieked (I’m not perfect) “STOP!!! Wiley, gross!” and into the tub he went.

He loves playing with his daddy's calculator!
He loves playing with his daddy’s calculator!

Now, it is really funny what was going through my head at that moment – my general chemistry II professor – Dr. White.

He loves trains, planes and automobiles. He calls fire trucks "whee eww's""
He loves trains, planes and automobiles.
He calls fire trucks “whee eww’s””

Some time during the semester the class discussed disulfide bonds in molecules and Dr. White informed us, “and that’s why poop stinks.”

He loves to play outside!
He loves to play outside!

Back to the tub and my child, I’m scrubbing him head to toe with soap thinking about how I don’t like disulfide bonds…so annoying.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After the bath, his hands (AND HEAD) and my hands still smelled like those darn disulfide bonds.

He loves going to the Daniel Boone Library.
He loves going to the Daniel Boone Library.

I lost count of how many times and how many different types of soaps I used to clean both of our hands. I got desperate and used a disinfectant wipe from the household cleaning supplies.

At the library he plays like a secret agent - not wanting people to see him.
At the library he plays like a secret agent – not wanting people to see him.

I used my coconut/sugar/essential oil hand scrub – no dice.

He also likes to play on and around the furniture, because he doesn't get to do enough of that at home.
He also likes to play on and around the furniture, because he doesn’t get to do enough of that at home.

Finally, I took a wash cloth with Thayer’s witch hazel on it and scrubbed him down again.

I don’t know what witch hazel is chemically speaking, but disulfide bonds apparently don’t jive with it and our problem was solved.

He sometimes likes to share.
He sometimes likes to share.

Thank goodness for witch hazel.

20140804_144714

And that is how we wrapped up our week.

20140804_161243

Isn’t life exciting?

2 thoughts on “Thank Goodness For College Chemistry?

  1. When Juniper was little, we woke up to find her sitting in her crib painting everything in sight with the contents of her stinky diaper…. It was EVERYWHERE. She even ate some, so her breath smelled so so so so bad all morning. Oh it was so gross… Kids are fun!

Leave a Reply

