“In due season [you] shall reap…” The Week Following My Due Date.

My due date was August 17th…how I looked forward to this day.

I went into labor three days early with my first child and I was sure that I would “go early” with the second.

Mom and Wiley - we went to the hospital to make sure we would know where to go - like - if I went into labor in the middle of the night...or something.
Mom and Wiley. We went to the hospital the day after mom and sister arrived to find Labor and Delivery – like – what if I went into labor in the middle of the night…or something? We needed to know where to go!

My contractions fooled me for weeks leading up to the 17th – I sat around the week before my due date trying to not have a baby before my mother and sister arrived.

As soon as they got to my house, I was free to have this baby and was positive I would; because that is what I needed, it’s what I wanted.

Wiley was loving that piggy back ride.
Wiley was loving that piggy back ride.

My husband was going to start a new semester of school on August 25th and my sister (who drove up from Houston, Texas) started her last year of nursing school on August 25th as well and had to leave Columbia, MO by the 21st of August to get back in time for a pre-semester nursing lab.

We had a field trip to the Columbia Library.
We had a field trip to the Columbia Library.

So, you see, I had to have this baby early or on time!

As soon as the family arrived, my contractions seemed to wane.

My sister has a cute bum!
My sister has a cute bum! and yes, my son wore that same outfit the day before (clean socks)… he doesn’t wear clothes at home, just when we go out.

*Le sigh.

With each baby-less day that ticked by, the more stressed and frustrated I became.

My sister found a few seasons of "Call The Midwife."
My sister found a few seasons of “Call The Midwife.”

Why be stressed Kate? Babies eventually come…

Wiley popping out to say, "I can see you!"
Wiley popping out to say, “I can see you!”

Ah yes, they come and I had experienced one delivery already and was NOT looking forward to doing it again.

Sitting around watching "Call The Midwife," hoping I would go into labor, watching other people in labor. Fake labor, but realistic fake labor.
Sitting around watching “Call The Midwife,” hoping I would go into labor, watching other people in labor. Fake labor, but realistic fake labor.

For those of you who haven’t read about the birth of my first son, you can find it here and here – for those of you who just want a summary – the birth of my first son was a nightmare that lasted two days.

reading books to pass the time.
reading books to pass the time.

So, after 40 weeks fretting over the doom and gloom of delivering my second child…I was gifted another six days to dread it over in my mind.

Art projects (which, mom, you never finished) :)
Art projects (which, mom, you never finished darn it) 🙂

On a visit (I wasn’t supposed to have – because that baby was supposed to come by now) with my OB he told me he wouldn’t induce me until I was closer to 41 weeks.

Wiley finished his art project.
Wiley finished his art project.

“And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not” (Galatians 6:7–9).

My baby sister had to leave before I was induced, but to quote the Rolling Stones, “we can’t always get what we want, but if you try sometime, you just might find – you get what you need.”

and such is life.

We love you!
We love you!

Leave a Reply

