The Birth Story (If That’s What You’re Into).

I used to watch Flight of the Concords…which is where I ripped off the title, “If that’s what you’re into” for this post – credit given where it is due.

DSCN2056

Speaking of being due…

This post is really All About Me.
This post is really All About Me.

I didn’t go into labor naturally “on time” and I elected to be induced August 22nd at 10am.

Hey me and Nurse Gail.
Hey me and Nurse Gail.

I definitely feel like so many of my prayers were answered, all the things I was stressing over got worked out.

DSCN2103

First – I didn’t want to put any of my friends out with having them take my two year old for who-knows-how-long? …as fate (or heaven) would have it, my dad decided to come up to Columbia, mainly because he was missing my mom, but he extended his visit to stay with my Wiley.

When being induced, bring a book or some movies...you'll be awhile.
When being induced, bring a book or some movies…you’ll be awhile.

Worry Number One – eliminated

DSCN2097

Second – this was my first time being induced. It seemed sort of unnatural to me to force the baby out if he wasn’t ready, even if I was.  Being induced also means artificial Pitocin (Oxytocin) being streamed into an IV to start contractions, which has the potential to bring on very strong contractions. I just feared the pain I knew would come.

Getting Stronger

I knew physically I could live through it. For thousands of years women gave birth with nothing more than a lay midwife to assist them…and for many others, they gave birth alone.

DSCN2108

But sitting in hospital room 338, on an exercise ball, reading my library book, “Instant Mom” by Nia Vardalos (which I would recommend – an adoptive birth story), I labored for several hours comfortably from 2 to about five centimeters.

This is where I start crying...
This is where I start crying…I’m scared.

At four centimeters the OB broke my water.

Tap Out
Tap Out

Although still not having painful contractions from 4 to 5cm, I sat on the ball with tears trickling down my cheeks.

I was afraid, I knew what was coming and wondered if I would have more than two children.

The contractions got stronger and eventually the pain crept into my back. Back Labor, GREAT, just what I was hoping for.

My mom and husband tried to make me comfortable, but I had decided before my OB came back into my room that I wanted to be juiced up.

DSCN2137

Give me the epidural – I have already been through labor hell – if I have the choice – I’m not going through that again.

DSCN2139

The Anesthesiologist was awesome, I hardly felt the local anesthetic poke into my back and frankly I didn’t care, I was on the road to recovering my sanity. If happiness comes in the form of a big fat needle shoved into my back? Please, sign me up!

Oh, now I can rest some!
Oh, now I can rest some!

Numb – gloriously numb!

Oh, time to push?
Oh, time to push?

Some downsides? Well, I had to get a catheter.  Here I thought I’d go my whole life without needing one of those…

He's here!!!!
He’s here!!!!

I felt good enough to keep asking my mom, “How is Wiley and dad doing?” She was getting steady text messages from dad and everything back home was fine.

DSCN2158

After being juiced up, I turned my TV on and watched House Hunters International and Love It or List It Too…that’s not a downside to labor, by the way.

Nurse Mary
Nurse Mary

Ten hours after being hooked to my IV to induce labor, the OB announced that I was ready to push.

Baby T Rock!
Baby T Rock!

Oh Boy, I was nervous about this part…but I was still cracking jokes, because I felt well enough to!

DSCN2179

I did three quick pushes – CRAP – I pooped…It’s true and you should be aware that this happens (so I discovered).

for the first time since I was 12 (story for another day) I pooped unintentionally.

DSCN2189

I’m sure you all wanted to know that part – but that is an ugly reality of child birth.

My mom
My mom

I did three more quick pushes – Doc was getting excited and I did three more quick pushes and the baby’s head came out.

I ate half that pizza by myself!
I ate half that pizza by myself! First thing in about 12 hours.

I didn’t have to push anymore after that – My baby just came out and was placed on my chest – relieved to find my second child was as cute; it was a concern for me. My first child was cute, so I was hoping the second would match him in cuteness – no disappointment there.

The very next day, Wiley came to see the new baby
The very next day, Wiley came to see the new baby “we picked up.”

Some minor worries – I didn’t want to tear (I was very concerned about my lady parts), I didn’t want to get any hemorrhoids from pushing (who wants those??) and I didn’t want to poop.

Wiley asked us when we were leaving for the hospital the day before,
Wiley asked us when we were leaving for the hospital the day before, “where are you going?”

Two out of three ain’t bad.

Danny told him,
Danny told him, “we are going to pick up a baby.”

At the end of the day, literally, I felt so good that I knew I would have more children. I would have to do the pregnancy thing again, but I knew that I would not have to fear the labor and birth experience anymore and that made me really happy.

Does Wiley like this new guy, or what?
Does Wiley like this new guy, or what?

It may sound silly to you, but as soon as my back went numb I was thanking my heavenly Father profusely for the availability of modern medicine. I thanked Him for inspiring the person who developed this wonderful thing called Epidural.

Yeah, I think these two boys will be the best of friends.
Yeah, I think these two boys will be the best of friends.

Do I think every women should use them – certainly not – if women want to go naturally, “You GO girl”…but that girl wont be me, ever again.

DSCN2226

Pretty awesome.

One thought on “The Birth Story (If That’s What You’re Into).

  1. Katie! I absolutely love your blog and your honesty!! I am so scared of pooping too! I’m getting less worried about it though 😉 I totally get why you took the epidural! I would too if that was what my first experience was like! We’ll see how I do this time. Pray for me! I love you so much! You rock my friend!

Leave a Reply

