The Naming Of A Child = A Victory For Marriage

When this guy smiles, you can see a dimple on his left cheek - you can barely make it out here.
When this guy smiles, you can see a dimple on his left cheek – you can barely make it out here.

When it comes to naming a child, I always have a few names I love.

My husband also has a few names he loves…

and our names don’t usually match.

"My little buttercup...has the sweetest SMILE!" The Three Amigos
“My little buttercup…has the sweetest SMILE!” The Three Amigos anyone?

Thus, coming up with a name of mutual affection takes time

and until we decide on a name, looking through names becomes a job.

DSC_0202

I love funky names like, Fisher (Danny actually liked this one, but he knows someone who just used it – so it was out), River, Ezra, and old fashioned names like Harold, Henry or Otis. I also like those Scottish names or Gaelic names…and then I couldn’t ignore the Scandinavian names on my side of the family history!!!

This kid's hair just kills me - I love his little fluff!
This kid’s hair just kills me – I love his little fluff!

Danny likes (what I would consider) “Redneck names” Bow (as in bow hunting), Bear, Bowie (like the knife…) and he also likes names that refer to some athletic feat like “Ollie.”

Looks like a cute little turtle or something...
Looks like a cute little turtle or something…

He even suggested the name ‘Bucky’ – seriously (You were kidding, right dear?)

Does this look like a Bucky to you??? :)
Does this look like a Bucky to you??? 🙂

anyway, I eventually turned to social media and asked others what they thought we should name our child.

We got loads of suggestions and I decided I would use one of the names from that suggested list!

Wiley loves his new baby!
Wiley loves his new baby!

Isn’t social media great?

like, really loves his new baby... "Wiley STOP, be gentle"
like, really loves his new baby… “Wiley STOP, be gentle”

One of the last names suggested on that list was ‘Tyler’ – which was submitted by my Father in law.

DSC_0277

My Father in law had a dream one night wherein he was calling the new child by the name of Tyler and when he shared that story with me and I shared it with Dan, we both agreed that we loved the name (although, going against my personal rule that we would not use a name on the Top 100 most popular boys names in the US).

DSC_0292
Tyler Rockwell

We had already picked out the middle name ‘Rockwell’ long before the first name was agreed on.

Big Brother
Big Brother

Your first impression was Norman Rockwell, wasn’t it?

DSC_0306

Actually, it comes from Porter Rockwell – he was a good friend and body guard to the prophet Joseph Smith Jr – he seemed to be an alright guy. 🙂

DSC_0310

We are all so in love, tired, but so in love.

 

Leave a Reply

